sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Whaling Demons
Friday, Mar. 12, 2004

Sooo...

The tako conversation. Grace, the woman with whom I share a great love of sushi, won't eat tako--octopus, to you, the uninitiated--because they're intelligent creatures. And they are. And after she told me this, I couldn't eat octopus either. So on the second Aisho-san viewing, he tried to get me to eat a Japanese version of ceviche and, as incentive, listed off the ingredients--which included tako. Explaining that, first of all, I didn't trust the Asian fusion ceviche, and second, that I didn't eat octopus, I declined the ceviche. Later, when we got to know each other a bit, he pointed out the large octopus tentacles in his glass-fronted sushi case, saying, "Well, this one must not be too smart because he ended up in my case." (I think I told him that comment was going to net him an extra-warm place in Hell.)

So, on the last visit, The Enforcer suggested octopus to me. "She doesn't eat octopus," the Aisho-san interjected.

"What?" The Enforcer cried in mock distress. "No octopus? Why?"

"She thinks they're intelligent animals," the Aisho explained.

They both agreed that octopus are intelligent animals.

"But there's a lot of intelligent animals in there," The Enforcer said, gesturing at the array of cold, dead fish before us.

I made some comment about how I only ate the dumb ones and repeated the conversation about the dumb octopus that ended up in the Aisho-san's case. The Enforcer laughed. "Don't laugh," I said. "That's the kind of attitude that keeps the Japanese whaling."

"The Norweigans whale too," the Aisho-san protested.

This is kind of a boring story, isn't it?

Well, just to switch gears, I'll tell you that today's shopping spree netted me a sweet pair of sandals, a groovy new lip pencil, a set of measuring spoons, four pair of underwear and a pair of pajama pants.

Wow. That was so much more interesting than the other thing.

Ah well.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.