sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Busy? Work!
Thursday, Feb. 03, 2005

When All Else Fails, Try The Bard

Went to Professor G's Shakespeare class today. They were just finishing up A Midsummer Night's Dream, which I have never read--though oddly I recall playing the wall in the play-within-a-play at some point in my later English literature course. We didn't read the whole play then, and I don't know why we only read that bit...and now I'm rambling just because I can.

Before the Shakespeare lecture, I was in the local bagel and coffee shop madly trying to finish my Japanese homework. Of course, since I was madly trying to finish something, I ran into someone I know. This time it was Patrick. We sat and chatted for a bit about his new girlfriend, Lisa the 27-year-old virgin (that should be her Indian name, I think). Turns out she's one o' them Calvinist Christians and she wants Pat, a Jew, to convert. Will Pat convert for the sex is the real question here. Though it would be conversion followed by marriage and that might be asking too much of the poor boy.

After that, I ran over to the Shakespeare class, then met Max, took him back to work, went to yet another coffeeshop to finish the ol' Nippon-ese, ran to pick up the cat (who had just had his teeth worked on to the tune of almost $300), went back up to Max's office, then to class. Whew.

In class, which is largely conversation-based, I paired myself up with this supremely unsocial high school student who knows all the grammar and syntax but who speaks Japanese like this boss I used to have who spoke Spanish with a Brooklyn accent. It was beautiful. So, yeah.

That was my day.

Tomorrow is a visit to Deb the new therapist (look, Indian names are falling out of the sky!), a Judi walk, then lunch with fabulous Kelly, the gym, then perhaps a movie with Mitch in the evening.

But I'm grateful. I ask the Universe to keep me busy and it does. Thank you, Universe.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.