sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Crazy Quilt
Tuesday, Feb. 01, 2005

The last several days have given me ample opportunity to practice bodhichittya and work on developing my warrior heart and spirit. And I don't know how well I've done, but I did remain mindful of where I was trying and where I was failing.

The components of the practice were interestingly related: A meeting with a student group whose stated goal is to "defend democracy," a meeting of retired Central Intelligence Agency agents, a woman who called another man a racist then said, "I have Arabic friends," another war protester who asked what "DOD" stood for, playing Patrick's hand in a game of Scrabble against Patrick's new girlfriend, Sunryu Suzuki's gentle and humorous lessons, Loma Rinpoche's quoting The Rolling Stones, Mitch in contrast with others and in his own element...

And in bewtween it all, lots and lots and lots of Japanese, yoga, dance, Judi walks, running Cooper, trips to the gym, Mexican food, and endless cups of coffee. Toss some Shakespeare into the mix (which I'm going to do this afternoon) and you'll have the last several of my days in a nutshell--or in a messy nutshell, as the Good Professor might once have said.

My head, as a result, feels all stretched and wonky and I feel as though the universe were sending me these crazy quilt messages the likes of which I've never seen before.

Thank you, Universe.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.