sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Yoga, May and A Good Day
Sunday, Jan. 23, 2005

I began yoga classes yesterday at a little yoga center near my place. I'm taking yoga with Judi and Max at Judi's request. I've been interested, but not interested enough to seek it out on my own. I have to say, though, that I'm glad I did. I reallly enjoyed myself yesterday and can see it as something that I'll stick with over time. That, plus it made my shoulders sore, so it must be doing some good...right?

And after yoga, just to make it a full pseudo-new age kind of day, I went for a massage. Mmmmmassage. Then there was coffee with Mayflower and The Enforcer and two completely ordinary friends of theirs, Eric and Heather. I say ordinary because they're the married, house in the suburbs, two kids type of people. I'm not so down with those types of people, really--but it is nice to be a bit of a cultural anthropologist and get a glimpse into a kind of life that I don't have and don't ever want to have. For example, it was Heather's birthday and they couldn't get a babysitter so they brought the four-year-old and the 18-month-old with them and Heather complained about not being able to get to the gym when they didn't have day care (at this point, I pointed out that she was sitting next to her daycare, Eric the Husband, a point that was met with the blankest stare I've encountered in a while). See, me? I'd never be married to a man who valued my health so little that he wouldn't gladly say, "Take care of the kids for an hour while you go to the gym? Why, I'd love to!" No, instead of offering this, Eric instead chided Heather for going off her diet on her birthday. ("She goes off her diet when it's her birthday...for Christmas...for New Year's...when it's cold outside...when it's warm outside..." And, yes, he said this---but no, she didn't kill him. Which showed a surprising amount of restraint if you ask me, which no one did of course.) And I sometimes think that May invites me to such things because I'm the weird little show-offy thing that she can bring. I'm the weird, divorced, motorcycle-riding artist friend, which gives me some show-and-tell value in the life of May. Or maybe she's just my friend and loves me and so wants me to meet her other friends. But either way, I'm always getting the "odd woman out" vibe from the crowd.

Which is fine. I am odd. I am a woman. I'm not, however, out--though May does like to mention the Scary Mary incident by way of introducing me to her friends. And you know what? I'm fine with that too.

It's going to be a good day. I've decided.

You have a good day too, demons.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.