sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Eats And Runs
Wednesday, May. 26, 2004

That One Thing

I just dropped off Mayflower, who I had joined for a library run. That crazy girl. She didn�t even say hello as she got into my car. All she said was, �I want details.� I gave her the PG version�not because I�m not the kind of girl who kisses and tells, but because I�m the kind of girl who was raised with a healthy amount of shame (the Catholic amount of shame, if you must know, which would be enough shame to cripple a couple of hippie-reared kids).

Mayflower is the originator of one of my favorite boy-centered quotes, which is: �Boys are only good for one thing. And most of them aren�t even good at that one thing.�

Shop Much?

After depleting Mayflower�s copy card in the library�s copy center, I dropped her off and went shopping. I bought a dress to wear to NicI�s wedding, a black dress with a brown and white sort-of flower design on it. It�s not as bad as it sounds. (And thank you, Target clearance rack, because it was only $13, which is not bad for a one-time use dress.) I bought hose and a new bra (36D, which is a size I don�t think I�ve worn since the sixth grade). I perused the shoes, but they were Target shoes, so I no made a shoe purchase. I can get the same crap at Payless for half the price, in other words. Besides that, I already had a pair of Fuck Me Shoes at home in the closet. Them�s wedding wear, as far as I�m concerned.

Then I went grocery shopping. Things had gotten a little dire �round my place. Yesterday, for example, I was reduced to eating a can of tuna and a can of pumpkin. There were a couple of tortillas left, so I had those too. I ate some frozen berries out of the bag. So today I went and stocked up on all kinds of shit.

What Do I Eat Is What You Really Want To Know, Right?

I eat a lot of beans, so I always have cans and cans of beans around. I like pinto (Mexican girl, you know), but I�ll eat garbanzos, pintos, black beans, whatever. I also bought yet more canned pumpkin (which I actually like to eat out of the can). I bought some zucchini and onions and spinach and frozen peas and broccoli. I bought yogurt and cottage cheese and eggs. I bought green chile and veggie burgers. So, yeah, okay, that�s about it, but it still feels like a big day grocery-wise. I have food, people. Rejoice.

I am forbidden any kind of snack food. (I am of the MTV generation, so that means that I can kill an econo-sized bag of Doritos during a commercial break.) I shun most fruit (because it�s high in sugar), with the exception of bananas (if only because The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing takes great pleasure in mocking my banana fixation). I eat bread very, very rarely (I don�t think I�ve had bread in a month or more), though I do eat tortillas from time to time. I don�t eat pasta or rice (unless you lay some raw fish on that bad boy, then I�ll scarf it down). I don�t eat red meat (except very, very rarely in restaurants). It�s not a mad-cow thing, it�s just that I hate to buy and cook it. I only use milk in my coffee (and that�s nonfat, organic milk). I don�t eat crackers or cereal. I don�t eat soups generally�and make my own vegetable soup when I do. I don�t eat ice cream or cookies (see above, in re: snack food capacity/addiction). I don�t eat cheese or butter. I don�t eat prepackaged foods. (Do you hate me yet? Think my diet is strange yet?)

I go through food phases. Last month, for example, it was soy chicken fajitas. Now, I love me some soy chicken with salsa and plain nonfat yogurt on top. Add a salad, and that�s a meal. Now, faced with a soy chicken fajita, I think I�d rather go lay down for a nap. Right now, I�m in the beans with salsa and a tortilla phase. I�ve gone through the PB&J phase. The banana phase. The jelly on tortillas phase. The cottage cheese and jelly sandwich phase. The plain chicken breast phase. The tuna salad phase. The egg white omelet phase. I eat practically the same thing day in and day out until I get sick of it. Then I find a new phase. I eat at least one and sometimes three salads a day. That is one phase that I thankfully have not yet grown sick of.

When I start to get too dependent on a certain food, I cut it out, stop buying it, live without it for a while. Bananas are a recently purged food. Fruit-flavored yogurt is another (though I still buy plain, nonfat yogurt to put on top of berries and beans alike). Peanut butter, too, and jelly I�ve gotten rid of. I don�t like to become too dependent on any one food for some reason.

I shop at CostCo for vegetables, and buy bags of baby carrots, salad mix, English cucumbers, mushrooms, red peppers. Whatever looks good vegetable wise I buy in huge quantities and then race to finish, like, six heads of lettuce before they go bad. One week, I almost cried over what seemed like a bottomless bag of spinach. Seriously. Every meal that week I�d open the fridge and think, God, is it time to eat the spinach again?!

I drink a relatively large amount of diet Coke (a habit I�d like to break), Crystal Light (ditto), and water. Water. Water.

But Now There Must Be Coffee

I have to go get Max now, and I'm thinking some Starbucks would be a good thing.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.