sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Consuming Demons
Thursday, May. 27, 2004

Still Shopping After All These Years...

I don't know why NicI's wedding is throwing me into a shopping frenzy. Partly it's that no one has seen me in a while and I'd like to show up looking good--understated, but good, you know? So I have bought the new dress, the Fuck Me Shoes, black hose (to hide the bruises on my legs that I seem to acquire just in the course of everyday life). And I have seriously shopped for a handbag.

I hate handbags. I hate handbags, but I hate even more that women's clothes don't have pockets. I mean, where am I supposed to put my keys? my lipstick? my breath mints? And, yeah, I've resorted to stuffing the cash down the bra from time to time, but I know that it's not going to be very attractive to be digging around in the cleavage at the cash bar during the reception, so I usually just have an emergency $50 down there. Anyway, so I have shopped for a very cheap and entirely frivolous handbag for the wedding. And of course, I have found nothing. I even have been looking in the children's department for those clearance easter purses that little girls use to carry their little treasures, their pennies and band-aids. (Do you remember that little purse that you used to have as a little girl? Did you ever carry anything else but a little bit of change and some band-aids and maybe a pencil and little notepad?)

I also have yet to get a gift, though I'm going with a large crystalline vase made by a woman at the studio where I work. But then there's always wrapping paper and a gift enclosure that must be purchased. So there is yet more shopping to be done.

Food too?

Yeah, food too. I was still shopping this morning for comestibles. Max and I are going to dinner at The Demon Couple's new digs, and since I have this thing where I won't eat food that I can't count, I am taking chicken breasts, a big salad, and some corn and black bean salsa. I had to get a few things, so I headed off to Whole Foods (which is the upscale Wild Oats, I guess) and they had nothing I needed or wanted to pay too much for. (I mean, I love me some zucchini, but not really for a $1.99/lb, you know?) So I bought some soy steak strips and a can of corn and some Emergen'C drink mix (which The Demon recommended since I have started smoking again) and macaroons for Max. And then I went over to The Vitamin Trader. Their vegetable selection was meagre at best, so I only bought some tortillas. I do like to peruse the makeup in the organic food stores, so I looked at all the $11 Burt's Bees lipsticks, and the Hauschka skincare stuff, and the Hemp Organics stuff. And I painted my arm with a million different colors of eye shadow and blush, and then I walked away. I mean, how many dark brown lipsticks does a girl really need?

Then I went over to K-Mart to buy some nail polish. I am fascinated by K-Mart. I am fascinated by their shoe department with its overwhelming smell of plastic. I am fascinated by their strange clothes that I would never never never wear. I am fascinated by their "food" selection--stuff that will still be "edible" into the next century, it's so highly processed. I am fascinated by plastic tablecloths. I mean, I know that people buy this stuff and use this stuff, but why? Anyway, I bought some nail polish and some hair wax and came home.

And Now

I'm going to go over to x's place to help him move his stuff into storage. Exciting, huh? I volunteered to do this why? I guess because I need a good deed to round out my karma today.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.