sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

part X: having become, in the absence of vigilance
Monday, Oct. 06, 2003

dear heart,

the victorians used to have these vials, little vials

that they'd fill with tears and present to loved ones

as tokens of love. and this week, i should have

something like this as all my tears seem to be going

to waste, and they should really be put to some use, i

think. if not as tokens of love, then as some

saltwater habitat for displaced cretaceous creatures.

and there are many. and there have been many. tears, i

mean.

i hear all that you are saying about max and my

relationship. and i needed to hear all of it. thank

you, i am trying to say. i suppose i have become

adept, over the past fifteen or so years, at making

the outside look pretty when it comes to my

relationship with max. in fact, it hasn't been bad

really. i truly wish, and have wished for a long time,

that things would be different. i spent many, many

years trying to make myself into many, many things,

all to please him, to please some part of him that

could never be pleased with me. and it has been like

living inside a slow motion nightmare in this way,

where i have over time traded little important pieces

of myself for some dream that i knew would never see

the light of day. i have done this willingly,

lovingly, and also willfully ignorantly and

knowledgably about my chances of success. and none of

this is to say that i don't love max and won't

continue to love him until i draw my last breath and

that i won't continue to wish that everything had had

the potential to be...what both he and i have wanted

it to be. when we got married, i was very consciously

doing something that i knew was wrong. and it wasn't

just some flippant "it ain't broke, so don't fix it"

kind of wrong. it was very deeply wrong. it took away

the freedom i felt in my head, the little bit of

freedom that allowed me to think that i truly was

free, the lie that i could tell myself that meant that

i could keep myself in a relationship with a man whose

rejection of me was, though truly unmeant, elemental

in nature. (i don't know how else to say that, i

guess, having never heard anyone else say it, there

has been no model for it in my life, no model for how

other women handle this kind of situation, what they

say and do, and how it all works out in the end.) i'm

really trying to say that i love max, but what has

kept me with him has been a mixture of that love and

of fear--fear of being alone, the fear that i will be

alone for the rest of my life, the fear that people

would learn that what had become the central secret of

my life, the central failure of my life. i don't

know. i'm trying to think of how all this might sound

to you. it sounds self-centered and perhaps a little

bitter even though i've fought against bitterness over

this and have only come to realize, in the past year

or so, that i don't have to be bitter (even though

bitter has been such a habit that getting rid of it

has been problematic at best and near impossible at

worst and which manifests itself often in biting

remarks directed at max), and that i don't have to be

resentful towards max for doing what he has seemingly

been wanting me to do for so long, that is,

compromising myself to be with him. and i say this

knowing that i have done all this willingly.

and, at the same time, if i want to move on, to start

moving toward the kind of person i want to be, then it

seems so sadly and stupidly inevitable that someone

besides me has to be hurt. i say sadly and stupidly,

because it seems unfair that anyone but me should be

hurt by my decision and i would willingly bear all the

brunt of the hurt in this, not just as the price of

freedom, but to spare someone i have loved for so long

from having to feel hurt or unloved or neglected or

any number of a hundred things that i know are moving

through max's heart these days, that i know are

moving through his heart because they are also moving

through mine.

i also hear what you are saying about neo, and i

think that the catalyst metaphor is apt in many, many

ways. i think that perhaps you are right in thinking

that he is nowhere near capable at this point of

engendering the kind of emotional maturity that it

would take to engage in a relationship. i don't even

know that he would be willing to try. but when i look

into his eyes i feel the force of an incredible kind

of passion that has never been a part of my life.

never. not from max, not from anyone. and i'm aware

that this kind of passion may never truly be part of

my life. and i'm not thinking that neo is going to

somehow save me. (i'm thinking mostly about how if i

leave msx that there is still going to be a long

period of having to feel loss and loneliness and hurt

even if neo did step seamlessly into the picture,

which he's not going to, which i don't want to

happen.) i don't want neo to try to save me even.

it's mostly at this point that, from knowing him, i

can see for the first time in my life that there is

the possibility for a kind of love that has been

missing from my life. whether that ultimately comes

from neo or whether it means that i spend the rest

of my life searching, it is still something that i'm

finding that i desperately need.

perhaps i've given you the wrong impression about

neo in my descriptions of my own foolish behavior

in regards to him. it's not the drunkenhandonthigh

thing that i'm trying to get more of. (in fact i'm

quite embarrassed about that and feel pretty goddamn

stupid over it.) but for the last two months, neo

and i have spent more time together than max and me,

and it has been over the course of this time--not the

two times that we have gotten drunk together--that i

have come to see who he is. i don't know that it

matters to say what and who i'm finding, but it's only

scratching the surface to say that he's well read and

familiar with the ideas of others. i'm not holding

back information--for any other reason than that i'm

feeling a bit battered at the moment, a bit heartsick,

and i don't think i can begin a list that sings

praises when it is more appropriate at this moment to

mourn.

later:

i don't know what else to say about the whole mess at

the moment. i suppose you brought up the whole

self-sabotaging aspect of my behavior, my seeming

addiction to failure, my self-defeating behavior. it's

related in so many ways to the core belief that i hold

(and would like to be free of) that i don't deserve to

have anything worth having. i'm always choosing to

have the second best something so that i don't deprive

someone more deserving of first best. and that's okay

in a lot of instances. it's saved me, i think, from

being a grabby princess type who selfishly snatches up

everything good and screw everyone else. but it's also

meant that i've entered into a relationship with

someone who loves me, but loves me as though he might

love a treasured aunt. i've never been at the heart of

max's love. i would never criticize him for

this--i've actively agreed to this--but it has hurt.

and too it has played into all my beliefs about

myself. of course, these beliefs manifest themselves

in many other ways--my failure to move forward with my

education is the big way that i think you've

witnessed.

but that too is partly related to devoting all my

energy to being second best in max

's heart--if i

spend all my efforts trying to be something to him

that i never can be, then i can ignore all the other

places where i am not being who i can be. (am i making

any sense?)

and i feel as though i should say that when you speak

of max's sexuality, you are forgetting that what he

feels is related to love too. he will never love a

woman the way he would a man. i say this after fifteen

years of trying, and not as someone who saw it on some

talk show. i say this with a deep sadness that is

only a function of experience. i don't know how to

explain this, have never tried to put it into words

even. it's just a thing that is, that exists,

wordlessly, at the center of my life with him. maybe

it will make some of the above make sense, make more

sense.

i will say finally, that when we got married that i

told myself that i would give it a year. it was about

committment, but it was about a committment that i was

not willing to make. max wanted stability, but in my

head the cost of his stability was my independence, my

sense of freedom, and i had to betray my own heart to

marry. i am loathe now, despite this, to go back on my

word. it's turned into a mess that i perhaps could

have avoided then by being truthful--and which i did

avoid for a long time by doing so--but he needed me

then and i stepped up. (the "bad patch" excuse will

not be invoked here.) and every day has been this

renewal of self-betrayal and not love and committment

as it was before we were married and as i feel

marriage should truly be. and i've been able to bear a

year of this, but i can't continue to do it without

continuing to destroy what i am and what i dream of

becoming.

i've tried not to make this a litany of excuses, but

rather some explanation. i don't think you require an

explanation, but it has been good for me to write this

out. i found when i was in creative writing classes

that my mouth could lie all it wanted to about how i

felt (my mouth will tell you that everything is fine,

that i'm fine, that it's all okay), but when the words

went through my hands, lies about feelings were all

but impossible. it's good to bypass my mouth now and

see what my hands say. that's always been truth to me.

that's it for the moment, i guess.

sublingua

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.