sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

not sure of anything
Saturday, May. 10, 2003

Gryphon�

I want to apologize. (I�m not sure how appropriate that would be, but honestly, as is the case with most apologies, I�m mostly looking for a way to alleviate my own guilt.)

I�m sorry.

Having said that, however, there is still this:

Your dreams (as conveyed to me by Max, of course) seem suddenly to have become very dangerous places. (The car chase/shoot-out dream, for example, says a lot about how you�ve come to feel about the process of dream interpretation, you know?)

Having seen how apprehensive you�ve become about this (and, since I�m relatively sure that the process of dredging your dreams for their meanings has only been part of what has made you so uncomfortable�the other, major part being the meanings themselves), I will say this�again without being able to vouch for its appropriateness and only guessing at its utility, because it may mean nothing to you at all, but somehow I think that it might�But, here�s the thing:

I had a therapist once who told me that the best way to get at an interpretation for a dream was to ask the dreamer questions about the dream until they just pretty much told you what it meant. Over the years, I�ve come to realize how frighteningly well this technique works. In refining the process, however, I�ve also come to realize that there is a lot of shooting in the dark (who knows what questions to ask at first?). I�ve also come to see that a certain amount of lack of regard (this sounds really terrible to me as I write it) for the well being of the dreamer�s psyche is necessary. I mean, if I wanted to protect people from themselves, this would probably be an easier process for everyone involved. But I don�t, so it isn�t. (This is sometimes an appropriate desire, more often not).

But the largest part of the process of dream interpretation, to me, has to do with imagining the dreamer�s life from the inside out. In other words, I know very little about you and your life, but in looking at your dreams, I have to think about what I do know and about how I would feel if I were in your place. That has little to do with the dream itself (except that it�s incredibly useful for sniffing out the more elusive themes) and, since we aren�t used to having people do this (and/or express their having done this directly to us), it seems like some kind of black magic when it does happen.

(I�ve garbled this almost to the point of unintelligibility because I didn�t really want to have to say it and even less did I want to have to explain it, which I am not doing, much less not doing well.)

Anyway, as a way of adding to the confusion, I will say that I fear the exposure of the underside of my psyche as much as you do (for example, my own online diary remains hidden partly for this reason), and all my recent dreams have been about this theme of exposure in re: dream interpretation. Which is partly why I'm writing this, and partly why you�re reading this I think.

Anyway--

sublingua

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.