sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

What is allowed
Saturday, May. 10, 2003

This morning's challenge is the departmental calculus final which is, I'm afraid to say, going to kick my ass, I think.

In little less than an hour, I'll be sitting at a desk with a number two pencil and a shockingly expensive calculator and the allowed 8x5 cheat sheet and the last of my tired little brain cells. And if I get less than a 70% on the exam, I fail the class. It doesn't matter that I'm going into this with a low A average. I'll fail. This information alone is enough to make me a bit crazy.

Also, the act of writing this makes me a bit crazy, because I realize that I'm online whining about the fact that I may have to retake calculus because I'm too stupid to study for the final exam. And, in comparison to the number of people who can't afford an education, or a home, or their next meal, this is very, very unimportant stuff.

And I'm tired. And I want to whine.

Instead, maybe I'll write a bit about the books I bought yesterday. Here's a list:

The Garden of Eden (Hemingway)

Surprised by Joy (Lewis)

Breed to Come (Norton)

Swann's Way (Proust)

Mill on the Floss (Eliot)

The Lifted Veil and Brother Jacob (Eliot)

I'll Never Be Young Again (duMaurier)

Collected Short Stories (Huxley)

I began the CS Lewis in the car on the way home, so delighted that I ended up reading aloud to Max. I also started the Hemingway, which is shockingly good (as all Hemingway tends to be). The others are all reads that I've been meaning to dive into for a long time, or are reads that I came across on the shelf as I was looking for those books that I've been meaning to read for a long time.

It's been awhile since I was able to choose my own reading material. (That is, reading material that wasn't for school.) It was fun to go down the aisles and pull books down and read the back and yea or nay them at will, rather than pulling them down from the shelf, read the back, and know that I was going to be compelled to read and analyze them for a grade.

And, speaking of reading and analyzing, there has been the usual amount of guilt over the GDIP (Gryphon Dream Interpretation Project), which has, sadly, I believe, come to a screeching halt. I say sadly because I was learning a lot from the dreams of another, which was a shockingly effective way for the universe to pass on a lesson. I had no defenses against it. I just had to let it happen. Just let it happen. This could be today's theme. Maybe?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.