sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Hejira
Sunday, Apr. 14, 2002

I just finished reading the Bethany Rusen's online journal, Hejira. I've never actually read an entire online journal before, but this one, for some reason really...caught my attention, I guess. Why? Well, Bethany (here I am, calling her by her first name, like we've been friends for years) is an art student, suffers from depression, is being medicated, is trying to live her life the way that she wants to--the way that her heart says she has to, and I respect that. I cringe when she calls herself fat, knowing that I did all through those late teens/early 20's years, and that that never once helped my self-esteem. I wanted to reach into my computer and shake her when she gave up the opportunity to go to Rome. I want to tell her that I've been a retail slave, dealt with the same kinds of rude yuppies and their rugrats (as has half of America, I know). I feel sorry for her relationship with her father, and glad that she has her mother to lean on. I read and try not to be judgemental about the May-September relationship she's in. Wow. A journey.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.