sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Foods of the Gods
Thursday, Apr. 11, 2002

Smattering.org The Friday Five

1. What is your favorite restaurant and why?

I'm a sushi fanatic. So I love Minato of Japan and Shogun. Raw fish places rock my world, as the kids say.

Also, there's a dim sum place here called AmerAsia which I love for their scallion pancakes and sesame balls. And a BBQ place around the corner that has the greatest ribs. Oh, yeah, and Garcia's serves great menudo and chicharones! And there's Olympia Cafe for Greek food (gyros on the best pita bread you've ever eaten in your life!) and India Kitchen and India Palace for Indian food (mmm, navratam korma). Siam Cafe for Thai (Tom Kha Tofu and Spicy Basil Tofu). Saigon Far East for Vietnamese (Seafood soup with cilantro and spring rolls).

Yeah. We eat out a lot.

2. What fast food restaurant are you partial to? There's a Panda Express which is fast and greasy drive-up Chinese. Also, I like me some tasty Sonic giant sugary drinks (fresh lemon-berry slushes!).

3. What are your standards and rules for tipping?

I tip $5 up to a $20 restaurant tab, and 25-30% if it's above that. (Hey, I used to be a waitress!) Also, if there's a tip jar on the counter, like in a coffee place or something, I'll drop in a buck when I get my triple skim latte or triple mocha.

4. Do you usually order an appetizer and/or dessert?

It just depends on how I feel and where I am. In sushi restaurants: it's age tofu or some kind of dumpling or tempura appetizer. They usually don't have desserts, so you have to go out for ice cream after.

In Mexican restaurants, if there's a bunch of us, I like to order chile con queso or guacamole. And if they have natillas, I'll have that for dessert. But natillas are pretty rare anymore.

In Indian restaurants, watch out! Usually there's a bunch of us, so we'll get some bread and chutney and a mixed appetizer plate and then our food (we share) and THEN dessert (ras malai is my all time favorite, but I'll settle for kheer, or if we can't decide, we'll have a combination dessert plate that has all of the above along with mango, gulab jamun, and halawa).

A Thai place here that has only so-so food has, strangely, great desserts. I love their black rice with young coconut.

5. What do you usually order to drink at a restaurant?

I don't drink alcohol and I can't drink Coke anymore (though I used to down that stuff like it was going to disappear from the planet tomorrow), so now I drink water and iced tea. I'll sometimes have coffee with breakfast, but almost never will I drink juice because it's too thick!

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.