sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Freedom Inherent In Flight
Tuesday, May. 03, 2005

Destination: Paris

A funny email from Kev, including a picture of Kel in the embrace of a beaming cheese stall man. Kel looks uncomfortably happy, the way you might look to find that the bear chasing you through the forest really just wanted to catch you so as to give you a couple of enthusiastic kisses on both cheeks. Kev writes that this bear of a cheese guy is Kel's new "petit ami."

I reply that Lew and I are having fun, and that Kelly should try to find out if the cheese guy's got a brother for me.

Destination: Tokyo

FedEx informs me that they will try, for the second time, to deliver a package to me. The package is from Denver. Denver is where my work-visa stamped passport is returning from. I have this horrible fear that instead of a work visa stamp, that I'll get back my passport stamped "NO," so I haven't yet purchased my airline ticket.

It's the stress of waiting that's the best part of procrastinating, really.

Destination: Gym

That's right.

Gratitude

I am grateful for Kel and Kev, for their collective sense of fun and adventure, for their ability to trust in the goodness of others. I am grateful to Lew, whose acceptance of me into his life reminds me that the formation of relationships requires time. I am grateful for Max, for putting in that time with me. I am grateful for the complicated coffee maker, for showing me that patience is sometimes rewarded with really good coffee. I am grateful for Dr. G and Janet, for The New Yorker magazine, for dictionaries. I am grateful for soynut butter and animal crackers. I am grateful for the hummingbirds who come to the birdfeeders outside the windows.

I am grateful for birds, all birds. I recall, when first trying to wake into the dream that is my waking life, that I was first of all grateful for birds, grateful for the sight of them in the trees on campus, grateful for their fallen feathers, grateful to hear their calls, grateful for the reminder of the freedom inherent in flight.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.