sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Bastante
Tuesday, Oct. 26, 2004

So Why Don't You Kill Me?

Okay, does it put me squarely in the "I'm a loser" division if I posted a bio to an online dating service?

Because I just did.

And I got three responses in about 36 hours, one of which I answered. Yikes.

Weekends Are Made For...

Sitting around the house mostly. It was a boring weekend in other words. I did rent a few movies: The Magnificent Ambersons, The House Of Mirth, and a documentary about Lee Wornos, the quoteunquote first female serial killer. I also came away from the video rental place with a copy of Careful, the Guy Maddin film, which I hadn't intended on renting but which the Lesser Hottie (henceforth to be known as Hottie II) insisted I take sans charge because Maddin is his favorite filmmaker. I've said it before, but I'll say it again: The video store Hotties love them some Sublingua.

Anyway, The House of Mirth was unwatchable as the director seemed to think that everyone in New York in 1905 spoke. Something. Like. This. And so Edith Wharton's beautifully written and witty dialogue was reduced to a kind of excruciating, Pinter-like patter, painful to listen to. I endured about twenty minutes of the film, then decided that, since I already knew the outcome of the book (and perhaps assuming that the outcome of the movie would be the same), popped the tape out of the VCR and moved on to Careful. Hottie II had warned me that Careful was all about incest. I didn't tell him that one of my favorite plays is 'Tis Pity She's A Whore, but rather took the film and watched it. What a beautiful and Lynch-like thing it was. I didn't like it particularly, but I couldn't say exactly why that is, given it's dreamlike quality--a quality that I normally appreciate very much.

Otherwise, it was quite a slow weekend, as I think I said. There was a visit to the gym and some thrift store shopping, lunch with my mom, etc.

Y bastante.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.