sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Entered As Evidence
Monday, Oct. 04, 2004

A Mundane But Packed Day In WhichThe Universe Tries To Convince Sublingua That She Is Loved

I dropped Max off at work and had an hour before I was supposed to meet Judi. I decided to spend that hour driving around listening to my once lost, now found copy of Missy Elliott's first CD. While I was cruising the neighborhood, I ran into Ama, who was on her way to class (she's in nursing school now), so I gave her a ride to campus and had a quick chat with her about her beautiful new grrlfriend (almost typed "grrlfiend") Mons. (Seriously, Mons is a beauty and a borderline hoochie to boot.) (And don't I love the phrase "hoochie to boot.")

I went to meet Judi after a bit and she, just back from Pittsburg, was not walking this a.m. She went to Pitt for a dog show and to tour some Frank Lloyd Wright houses and told me that she had picked up a feather for me on her tour of the Chalk Hill house. (How cool is that? I love it when people bring back things like that for me from their travels. It makes me happy that people are thinking of me when they're away from me.) Since Judi wasn't walking, we chatted for a bit (I told Judi about my slacker week, in which I did little exercise, ate my way through a jar of peanut butter and lost two pounds--"I'm living the dream!" I said, and Judi laughed delightedly) then I took Coop (my beautiful dog that Judi has been raising for me for the last eleven years) out for a run and returned him to Judi for some more safekeeping. I made plans with Judi to meet her housesitter so that when she and Paul (her wonderful husband, who was wandering around the house in his bathrobe when I arrived) go to Europe in a couple of weeks, I can show up to take out my Coop for a run whenever I want to. Paul offered me one of their garage door openers so that I have a place to park Frida while I'm doing so. How fucking cool is that? I love those people.

After leaving Judi's, I hit a crafts store to check out the dollmaking supplies. I saw a photo of Frida Kahlo wearing a pair of earrings (given to her by Picasso) that are made from porcelain doll hands and I want to recreate that pair to wear myself. Since they didn't have any porcelain doll parts at the store where I stopped, I decided to stock up on paint instead. Then I went home and painted. After a couple of hours of that, I was a bit drained, so I lay down to watch the end of The Searchers, a terrible John Wayne film that, when I rented it, caused Lesser Hottie to issue a John Wayne specific "Westerns suck" warning that I hadn't listened to, but now wish I had. Of course, I fell asleep in the middle.

And speaking of Lesser Hottie: Those video store clerks love love love Sublingua. The last time I was in there, Lesser Hottie told me about an Orson Welles documentary that he had, but said that Hottie was borrowing it. Since I love Orson Welles, he offered to let me have it when Hottie brought it back and I agreed enthusiastically. I assumed it was one of those things where it was in general rental rotation, but it turns out that it was Lesser Hottie's personal copy. Anyway, when I showed up to return my films (late as usual), Hottie was helping another customer, but he greeted me by name (which he's never done before) and said, "I have that Welles documentary for you." We chatted about the documentary while I rented a few more films (two about Frida Kahlo and one more about Hispanic women artists), then I left to the dulcimer strains of Hottie's, "'Bye, Sublingua!"

And can I just say? I want that boy. And, with any luck, he may want me too.

And you know what? I'm skipping the gym to go home and think extensively about the Hottie Duo while I...

...watch my Welles documentary, of course. Perverts. What else did you think I was going to do?

P.S.

And too? The xbry called.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.