sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

It's Only Human To Want To Kill A Beautiful Thing
Sunday, Oct. 03, 2004

Feed Me, Seymour

So last night I had Ladas, Ladas Chica, and Max over for dinner. I served green chile stew, "carne" (read: soy) adovada soft tacos, and a pie made with a couscous crust and yogurt cheese and fresh fruit (it tasted better that that description makes it sound). We had chips with some salsa cruda I made before dinner as we sat outside, enjoying the end of a beautiful day.

After, we headed off to see The Handsome Family, which was inspiring. They're a husband and wife team who do these dark, country music sounding stuff. (They sound better than that description makes them sound.) I had never heard them before and really liked them. The wife, Rennie Sparks, writes the lyrics to their songs and it's some wonderful stuff. She introduced one song by saying, "This song is about the night Brett asked me to marry him. There's vomit in it." Here are the lyrics to that song:

A Beautiful Thing

Don't you remember that snowy December when we went to see "Singing in the Rain"? I shouldn't have smuggled in that bottle of gin because after the film, I could barely walk.

But, darling don't you know it's only human to want to kill a beautiful thing.

When I was seven summer lasted forever. I used to chase fire flies through the woods. Tiny green lights circling warm August nights. I'd catch them inside a washed-out old jar. I dreamed of the stars with the jar by my bed, but each morning my pretty bugs were dead.

We should have been dancing like lovers in a movie, but I fell and cut my head in the snow. I wanted to tell you all the ways that I loved you but, instead I got sick on the train.

Isn't that beautiful? I love the refrain, "It's only human to want to kill a beautiful thing." How insightful is that?

I came home after, did a whole bunch of dishes, then painted and painted and painted, I was so inspired by the dark visions of The Handsome Family. I turned out some things that I like by using a technique that incorporates quotes from a copy of The Brothers Karamozov that I had laying around from the Aka Demon days. One piece in particular I really liked. It's called Another Reputation Ruined, which is one of the chapter headings from the Bros. K.

I'll explain next time what I plan to do with my pieces, but I'm out of smokes and if I don't get some Nick O' Teen in my system, I'm going to go a bit batty.

Happy Sundaying, Demons!

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.