sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Demon Dear Hearts
Thursday, May. 13, 2004

Have I been reduced to listing what I do each day? Well, yes.

Last night, I ditched the gym and went to the studio instead. I hand-built some dishes (two small bowls, a large bowl, two tumblers. On the way home, I stopped and rented Once Were Warriors and called (I think) Twenty-four Eyes. I came home. I had a veggie burger with some steamed vegetables, a salad, and some frozen peaches with yogurt for dinner. I watched about half of Once Were Warriors. (I've been reading the book for the second or third time, but had only seen the movie once.) I took a shower and went to bed.

I got up at four a.m., peed, went back to bed.

I woke up at seven a.m. when Max called. I woke up at eight a.m. when Max called to say he'd be over in a few minutes. I slammed some coffee, got dressed, made a couple of sandwiches for breakfast. I made an iced coffee for the road, drove Max to work, came back across town to walk with Judi (twice around the golf course and to the park and back with Cooper the dog). I went home, watched the rest of Once Were Warriors, took a shower and called the Aisho to find out how to spell his last name. I had his number because he called about a week ago to cancel on Fu's behalf and his number was saved on my caller i.d. (I consider using this method of gaining someone's number just about half a step above internet stalking and told the Aisho this in the course of our conversation. He laughed--but was it an uneasy laugh, a laugh like I laughed, much to her dismay, when Magdalene said to me, "I'm not crazy anymore" ?) Anyway I want to add Aisho's name to the pieces with his face and needed to find out if his last name (a simple one) was deceptive in its spelling. It isn't. I asked him, "How do you spell your name, Max?" (Max being his real--real diaryland anyway--name.) And he said, "M-A-X." I laughed and asked about his last name. He spelled it for me and then provided me with his Japanese name. (It's confusing I know. He's got the real name in English, the nickname in Japanese diary-speak, the nickname in English diary-speak, and the real Japanese name.) After straightening the whole thing out and my confirming that he knew how to spell his own last name, we ended up talking for a bit. (He was at work--I am always careful to ask if it's a good time to talk if someone is at work, and then I try to keep it brief--but he just chatted on and on happily.) At one point he was talking about how if he won the lottery he wouldn't stop working, he mentioned that he had noticed that x hadn't paid his share during the last sushi night out, he asked when I was leaving, and when he heard the answer, he said plaintively, "Don't go, Sublingua." I said, "What?" because I hadn't quite heard him. "Don't go," he repeated. I said, "What, Aisho, do you have some labwork for me to do around your house or something?" He laughed. He called me "wishy-washy." (Which is true, by the way, but which hits too close for me to easily admit that. Dammit.)

I told him that we were coming in for dinner on Friday and he immediately said, "What time?" I told him that I'd plan for seven-thirty, but given x's commitment to being ever late, that we'd probably get there around eight forty-five. He laughed and told me the reason he asked was because it usually got busy later on Fridays so that the earlier we came in, the more time he could spend with us. I laughed. "You're looking out for us, right?" I said. He said something to the effect that that was correct. I reminded him of the last time we came in by saying, "That's unless you're outside smoking a cigarette, right? You're looking out for us unless you need a smoke?" Refering to our last visit when The Dragon Lady had to gather the lot of sushi chefs from their smoke break. He said, "Do I need your permission, Sublingua?" I said, "Yes. Yes, you do. I want you to call me each and every time you need to go out for a smoke. And I'd prefer that you ask before you go to the bathroom as well."

Arg! There's more, but it's gym-time in Sublingua Land. Happy Gym-ming, my dear hearts.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.