sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Thinks Too Much
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004

So, I'm dropping out of school. (Luckily, I graduated last semester, which makes this just the kind of backassward move that I'm known for.) Details may follow.

I nearly did the unmentionable last night. That is, I nearly went for a solo Aisho-san viewing. I drove all the way up to the restaurant and then couldn't make myself go in. Out in the parking lot, some woman was standing near the open door of her truck, smoking a cigarette. I called Mayflower on the phone to see if she wanted to come and meet me, but she was sick. I told myself that I wasn't going to be that black woman who came in one night (as Max and I were having sushi and joking with the Aisho-san) and was obviously disappointed that she had to sit not in front of Aisho-san. I know that he draws a crowd of women, and I am so not interested in being one of many. I mean, that, and the fact that I am hugely uncomfortable going anywhere by myself. If I'd've had a book or something, I might've braved it, but there are only GRE study guides in the car, and I wasn't about to walk in and have dinner with a GRE study guide in front of me. I know, I know.

So I've given it a lot of thought (probably too much thought), during which I've tried to incorporate my experiences working in restaurants, when often times customers would try to get me to socialize with them. And I was always reluctant to do so, no matter how cool they were or how much I liked them.

I remember one guy, Mike, who used to come in with his wife, Barbara, and their two kids, David and NoName. (It was a baby, barely even deserving of a name.)

I'll finish this later as it's time to go...

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.