sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Will The Real Demon Please Stand Up
Sunday, Feb. 01, 2004

Hi, kids. It's me, Sublingua, reporting from the computer pod in the gym.

I just finished a workout. (Arms today, kids, and just enough cardio to warm up as I foolishly left the house without my jacket--before, of course, noticing the snow on the ground.) And since I always stop and wash my hands before I leave the gym (because some of them boys are none too clean), I went to the locker room. Where they keep the scale.

And I decided to weigh myself.

Now, I don't weigh myself too often. Maybe a couple of times a month--and always at the gym because I don't own a scale. I think they do the devil's work and I wouldn't therefore keep one in my house.

So I pulled my keys and my walkman out of my pocket, because why tempt fate, you know? And then I stepped on the scale.

196.

I weigh under 200 pounds.

This may not seem very impressive to you, a woman who weighs under 200 lbs. I know, I know. You're thinking, I know of actual cars manufactured in Japan that weigh under 200 pounds. But see, the thing is: The last time I was under 200 lbs., I was in the sixth grade. I was ten or so. I have never, as an adult, been under 200 lbs. So it's a bit of a triumph for me, alright?

I think I'm going to celebrate with some sushi and Aisho-san-viewing tonight. And maybe a pretty new bra. Because I saw a cute red one yesterday while I was shopping. And I deserve a reward.

And here is a relatively poor photo for you to look at until I can post some pictures of myself in my cute new bra:

Me, on May 16, 2000.

And here I am, earlier in January.

And the beautiful thing about these photographs? They don't show you that almost nothing essential about me has changed.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.