sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Dinner with "The Grrls"
Friday, Jun. 06, 2003

Woke up this morning thinking about Minuku-san. I woke up thinking about the things about him that I can read. There are the looks that flash across his face sometimes that indicate disapproval or a slight happiness, or recognition. There is his infectious laugh--another indication of amusement. There is this expression that indicates an internal conflict, a drawing into himself to think about something (which is usually followed by the statement, "It's complicated.")

I feel sometimes, with Minuku, that all my training as a scientist comes into play--and none of it works very well. There is the necessity for accurate and detailed observations, but this is often derailed by my own tendency to try to monitor my own internal state at the same time.

In other matters:

There was dinner last night with the girls and Max. (I don't know why I just referred to a group of my friends as "the girls," because I fucking despise people who call women girls--so I am willing to admit that I harbor some kind of...let's drop this, okay? I'll just not refer to them as "the girls" anymore.) Le, Ama, the Nic's (but not NicI's Ste), Ama's little sister Nat, and Max. NicI and Ste are getting married next May, in the alumni chapel on campus. I tried really hard not to be cynical about this, and narrowly avoided making the observation aloud that alumni chapel marriages generally have about three year shelf-lives. NicI is really happy about the impending wedding, and is excited about the honeymoon trip to Maui (that word looks so not spelled right). I wanted to tell her also--but of course didn't--about the Hawaiian sovereignty movement which asks for people not to come to Hawaii that the Hawaiians might choke out the tourist industry that they have become slaves to. Sometimes, knowing too much is not a good thing, I'll admit.

Ama is working at this job that she pretty much is enduring, but it's good that she has a job. NicII is still with Sophistica's old daddy, and enjoying it very much. Nat is in town until Ama and NicII and she all get tired of one another, then she goes back home. Le is working in a job that she likes more than the one she is about to leave. She and NicI made plans to go and see Tracy Chapman at the end of this month, during the arts & crafts fair (so of course, I can't go). (Man, is there anything that I can't make about me?)

(Probably not.)

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.