sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Beginning of a letter, never sent, to Sophistica
Tuesday, Jun. 25, 2002

Hello, darling--

I am here in the lab, having exhausted myself this morning by making a gel. Not running a gel, just casting one. Not two. One. And then, this afternoon, I think I may have to do some work, but I don't know. I'm going to try to get out of it though, you bet.

So, I'm all tired-like, what with staying out until 2 am [Ozomatli concert] and such and being old, etc. When the alarm went off at our house this morning at 7 am, there was not a bit of enthusiasm about it, let me tell you. I am so nap-time (as they say around here), it's not even funny.

Mama came through and toured the lab with my honorable older brother (who admits to understanding only about 70% of what she says at any given time) and she was very adamant about his directing the group to get rid of anything that hadn't been used in a year or more. Man, that's gonna hurt. Lab folk are packrats to begin with, but lab folk from China seem to have cultivated this art for centuries. I think they actually bring clutter starters from their home land which they set up on their benches, on the floor, anywhere there is a horizontal space or vertical space against which something might be leaned. Their reward, should they succeed in eliminating the clutter that is a modern plague, is a new UV spec, maybe a microwave, and some other assorted high ticket toys. Me? I think I get a third of a lab bench when this is all over, which would be a marked improvement from the space I share with my honorable older brother and what seems like ten other people right at the moment.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.