sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Go to sleep.
Tuesday, Jun. 18, 2002

I'm here at work, darlings, can you believe it? Right now, my little crop of protein is spinning and spinning itself clean in the centrifuge. I am standing by with the chemical equivalent of a big fluffy towel. Then, they get another washing and another spin dry and then I get to put them to bed on an (n)icy little bunk and go home. I'll be back though, don't you worry. In eleven hours I'll be back to resuspend my little darlings in some salty buffer and then they get a little trip through a chromatography column. The days are just packed.

So, here I am at work. The good news is that the new freezer is in which saves everyone a trip downstairs each time we need a frozen thing. Well, not all frozen things, just the frozen things that we like to keep at -20C. The -80C is all nice and frigid and remained so all through the recent crisis in which the -20 went south. That's the big news. I trotted out my usual joke for all new things received for my Chinese labmates: "It's just like Christmas!" and got a polite laugh.

I'm working my way up to starting to do crazy things in the lab: Perhaps one day I'll break out and sing along with the radio. Or maybe I'll use the one chinese word I know: "Dienwha"(that's a phonetic spelling, darlings) which means "'phone." They think I'm a little strange already, what with coming in late at night and very early in the morning (which I do only because that's the only time I can get my hands on any of the equipment). But that's okay. Remind me someday to write about being the only American in an all Chinese lab, won't you? It's interesting, but not right at the moment.

So, here we are again.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.