sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Devil-May-Care
Friday, Mar. 04, 2005

Addendum to that previous quick little note:

So, as I was saying, the contracts arrived in the mail and I jumped around a bit nervously while I signed for them. The postman took his sweet time with the paperwork and I thought I was going to have to whip out my hanko or something just to get my hands on the papers that make me a Nipponese wage slave. But, no, no hanko was necessary, and soon I was blissfully signing away my life and liberty in exchange for a poor pittance paid in yen.

The new hire packet included two handbooks for foreign teachers, one of which was all contract and legal-ese, one of which was very informal. There was also a handout about dress requirements. All in all, about a quarter of the new hire packet was devoted to dress code issues, about a quarter to contracts and contract issues, another quarter to helpful hints from former teachers, and the final quarter to that legal babbling that no one ever pays any attention to until it's being shoved under your nose as the reason why they aren't, say, paying you.

Deb the Therapist said, "Of course you read everything."

Um. Sure I did.

In the midst of the flurry of paperwork, I had lunch with the good professor, who invited me to dinner at his house to meet one of his friends from Tokyo, who is visiting later this month. I mean, talk about fortuitous. This is the way to network, baby. (I mean, by leaving it all up to luck, of course.)

I was sitting in Starbucks tonight, reading a tome by a Brit called Live & Work In Japan and I heard the Aisho's laugh. Looking up, I was confronted not by the Aisho, but by some fat Starbuck's patron who had stolen Aisho's laugh and was using it with impunity. Anyway, that's the second time Aisho has come up today. The other time being on the walk with Judi this morning...but I shan't include the details of that (not because they're spicy, but because they're rather boring).

Anyway, I'm reading the Brit's book because it was the best I could find on work issues (both social and legal)including taxes. All the American books are full of useful things like: "Don't stick your chopsticks in a bowl of rice, that's rude." But not a one of them American books includes things like when and how to pay taxes in Japan. Typical stuff like that. We're all so...informal and devil-may-care, aren't we?

Yes, we are.

And I'm going to prove it now by heading off to dinner rather than finishing this entry.

Love you, Demons. Have a good weekend.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.