sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Fridays
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Friday

Friday I set off to see a movie by myself. I announce this as though it were a major thing because for me it is. I don't go to movies by myself because I think that people who go to movies by themselves are strange and lonely people. I feel sorry for them whenever I see them in theaters and I'm with a friend or a group of friends. I always think, what a strange and lonely person that must be. It scares me to think about being one of those people, and these days I've been trying to head straight for what scares me. So I went to a movie by myself.

I checked the local "alternative" paper because, having no TV or access to the media, I have no idea what's out there movie-wise. There was a listing for The Blind Swordsman: Zaitoichi that interested me, so I decided to go to the 1:30 showing of that. When I got to the theater box office, I held out my five-fifty and proudly said the name of the movie to the pimply-faced teenaged boy behind the counter, he looked at me as though I were clearly insane. Then he rattled off the movies that the theater was currently showing (a list that, given my unfamiliarity with the current state of affairs in Hollywood, sounded Chinese to me) and which included not The Blind Swordsman. I opted for the next movie showing, which was Collateral starring Tom Cruise and someone named Jamie Foxx (who I thought must be the female lead). I took my ticket, put down $4 for a huge diet Coke, and went into the theater.

It was me and another single woman who used to be me. She also had a huge soda and a huge popcorn and she was barely able to fit into the theater seat. I sat several aisles in front of her, on an aisle seat. The previews, of which I remember not a one, were already showing. (No, I do remember one of them starred Matt Damon, whose teeth seem to have gotten whiter and straighter and more expensive looking. Matt himself, however, seems still to be as bad at the acting game as ever.)

The movie started and it took me a long time to get into it. I have so long not gone to movies that they seem to be paced very strangely. This one moved at a snail's pace for a long time, then moved too quickly. I didn't mind the premise, and enjoyed watching Tom Cruise onscreen. (And the last thing I saw him in was Vanilla Sky which sucked, so I wasn't expecting much from him.) I was relatively indifferent to the characters and several times had that Holden Caufield-ish thought run through my head about actors. You know, the one about when he's thinking about the Lunds and he comments about how they're too obviously acting, with the implication being that acting is acting and it's not a natural thing and how they really don't want you to think that it's a natural thing so much as they want applause and amazement. Well, that. It was a slightly more than teevee-quality flick--that is, if teevee hasn't gotten much better in the several years since I last owned a televsion.

It's too hot to tell about Saturday and Sunday. This morning included a three mile Judi walk and a nap and, so far, five meals, four of which incorporated green and red chile from the Saturday farmer's market excursion.

Now I get to check "Update online diary" off the to-do list. Only I'll have to add it to the to-do list first.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.