sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Busy Little Well-Socialized Demons
Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004

Shit, Yeah, It's Been A Busy Day

As your resident lazy hausfrau, I'm so not used to days that in any way resemble To Do lists. But today? Damn. I got up, made coffee and breakfast for myself and Max, took Max to work, then went to walk with Judi. Walked a few miles, went home, changed clothes. I had to search for some lightbulbs and pen refills for Max, so I headed across town to Target. On the way to Target, Mayflower called to see about coffee. I went to Target, picked up the lightbulbs--but not the pen refills (these were for a cheapie pen I gave Max two years ago and he loves the pen and god knows where I bought it and god forbid it should take just any refill). I drove back across town, parked my car, and walked over to meet Mayflower for coffee at the university. We had coffee and talked and I shopped the bookstore for Max's pen refills. (They had them. Yay.) She wanted lunch, so we walked across the street to a pizza joint where I paid $5 for the pleasure of her company and a few slices of tomato and cucumber (because god knows I don't eat pizza anymore) and a diet Dr. Pepper. We walked to yet another restaurant so that she could get a cinnamon roll for a birthday gift for someone. (Don't ask.) After that, I went home, slammed some real food for lunch (an egg and pita sandwich with green chile, tomatoes and mustard) and then I drove back across town to CostCo for various supplies for me and Max. I brought those home (again across town--talk about your soccer mom existence), divvied them up, changed clothes yet again for my gym workout later, brought Max's stuff to Max's house and put it all away. Now I'm having a quick smoke and posting this entry prior to driving--yes, you guessed it--back across town to pick up Max and bring him to class. Then it's to the gym to workout, home to cook dinner and maybe freeze a few more demons, and read some of the dreaded Dan Brown. (Damn Dan Brown. I hate him.)

And Mayflower?

When I got to the university to meet Mayflower, she was sitting in the coffee shop with Skinny Sheila (the woman who actually figured out a way to lose weight from her hair follicles, she's so dedicated to being skinny). She was crying. I gave her a hug, sat down, and she started to tell me about her lab-daddy's recent devilry.

To be fair, she works for the devil. (But to be even fairer, she chose to continue to study for her master's with the devil even after she had spent two or more years in his lab as an undergraduate.) The devil, as they say, knows more from experience than he does from being the devil. And, appropriately enough, their recent squabble was over a snake. (Don't ask.)

So Mayflower and The Devil argued over a snake, and Mayflower burst into flames and then I got to put out the fire. I am so freezing The Devil on her behalf. (Although if I start freezing other people's demons, my fridge is going to look like Grand Central Station, Demon Division, so maybe I'll let her wrangle her own demons.)

Social Much?

This week's plan for socialization includes a potluck for Sunny who is leaving the studio as well as dinner with Ladas and Ladas Chica and their five fabulous children. (Yeah, they're Mormons. How'd you guess?) Both events will require me to cook, as I will not eat food that people commonly bring to potlucks, and Ladas Chica has promised to make what Max calls "lasanchiladas" or "enchilagna." Since that sounds remarkably like something that contains both cheese and pasta (neither of which I eat), I'll have to take my own dinner. (And I told Max to tell Ladas to tell Ladas Chica not to be offended when I don't eat her cooking. It's nothing personal, I just don't eat food anymore. So Max told Ladas and Ladas told Ladas Chica and Ladas Chica replied, "Duh.")

The List?

Hell, yes.

I am grateful. I am grateful for granola bars and cigarettes. I am grateful for Sadie, the neighbor's fine, fine kitty-cat. I am grateful. I am grateful for frozen demon-sicles and for Dan Brown. (Yes, I am grateful for Dan Brown. Try that one on for size.) I am grateful. I am grateful for coffee, for Shohei Imamura movies, for Rudy Vallee and Mary Astor. I am grateful. I am grateful for the Video Babe--the gorgeous boy-geek who works the counter at my local video rental store. I am grateful for Max, for busy days, for Judi, for water, for time, for my existence, for my life, for my good (and bad) fortune. I am grateful. I am grateful and this is how, like Milton's Adam and Eve, I show my obedience. (And I am grateful to Gardner Campbell for showing me this.) I am grateful and this is how I show my humility. I am grateful.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.