sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Wrangler Who Hums While She Works (Featuring The Demon Who Loves Bad '80's Music)
Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004

I've always had a fondness for bad '80's music. Depeche Mode, for example. I love Depeche Mode. They took themselves so seriously. And for a while, so did the rest of the world. But now they're just kind of silly, aren't they? Now no one takes them very seriously at all. There's probably a lesson in that.

Do you like Depeche Mode?

Part I:
Your own personal demons
Someone to hear your prayers
Someone who cares
Your own personal demons
Someone to hear your prayers
Someone who�s there

Hello, My Little Demon.

What are you hoping to find here?

Part II:
Feeling unknown
And you�re all alone
Flesh and bone
By the telephone
Lift up the receiver
I�ll make you a believer

Do you think that your story is here? Or are you looking for proof? Are you looking for proof that I truly did love you? Or for proof that it's truly over? Or for proof that it never truly began? Or for proof of infidelity?

Proof?

Sounds like a court of law--only let's not be silly. Demon Wranglers don't bother with courts, or any laws, or structured arguments even. We don't bother because they don't matter. They don't make any difference to the work that I do here.

Part III:
Take second best
Put me to the test
Things on your chest
You need to confess
I will deliver
You know I�m a forgiver

Do you have something you need to confess? Because you know where to find me, don't you? And you know how much I love stories. I hope I love your story as much as you are enjoying mine.

Part IV:
Reach out and touch faith
Reach out and touch faith
Your own personal demons...
I will deliver
You know I�m a forgiver
Reach out and touch faith

Come a little bit closer. This won't hurt a bit. At least not that bit. Not the bit that you're not protecting anyway. Trust me on this one, My Little Demon. I've been wrangling demons all my life.

Part V:
Reach out and touch faith

Still unwilling to be wrangled?

You're so funny, My Little Demon. Don't be afraid. Come closer. I won't hurt you. I just want to tell you a little secret, pay you a little compliment.

Oh, now that got your attention, didn't it? If there's anything I've learned in all my years wrangling demons, it's that they love it when you speak to them of them. They love hearing about themselves. They love hearing about themselves so much that it makes them forget certain things.

So I just want to tell you, My Little Darling Demon, that you're among the more savvy (if, sadly, the littlest) of my little demons. You knew that, didn't you? I just want to remind you, My Little Demon, that, though you seem so savvy, that you're never going to be the savviest. Sabe? In other words, darling, you reveal who you are by how and what you hide. You will remember that now, won't you? You remember. Remember. Because I'd hate to see you make a mistake.

So don't bother to be shy. This really isn't going to hurt a bit.

We-ell, it's not going to hurt one of us anyway.

No more games, darling. I've got real work to do here.

You run along now.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.