sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon With The Raging Crush
Monday, Jan. 05, 2004

Fabulous sushi dinner last night with Max, x, and Soph. Oh, yes, and, of course, we had to go to the place with the cute sushi chef who it turns out is also named Max (but who will be named Aisho here, in place of the previous nickname "Sushi Max".) I have got an enormous, raging crush on Aisho-san and so--

We interrupt our regularly scheduled entry to issue the following warning on crushes:

So the thing about having crushes on people who work in restaurants is that those people are paid to be nice to you. Those people are professionals who are making money in what is essentially a customer service-oriented job and they, most of the time, don't have a choice about being nice to you. (Of course, this doesn't explain how a lot of really bad waitresses and bartenders manage to make a living, but I think we should blame the current administration.) This is especially true--the having to be nice part--if you're dealing with a tipped employee who makes next to nothing (and in N.M. the minimum wage for waitresses is something like $2.25 an hour and so their incentive to be nice and get tipped is pretty high)and who wants to see the cash on the table or on the bar (or in her g-string if we're talking about strippers, who also fall into the tipped employee category) when your flirting ass gets up out of that seat.

And, yes, I used to work in restaurants, and I used to get those guys who thought that your being nice was some cue to them that you were into them, and it was always a big surprise for them to learn that you had a boyfriend or whatever because you were being so nice to them everytime they came in to the restaurant when you were working. And it always kinda sucked to know that you were being nice to them because it meant that you were going to get a bit of extra cash out of them, but, yeah, that's why you were doing it.

And so I know it's a little different with a chef who is not necessarily making tips, but he still falls under the category of People Who Are Being Paid to Be Nice to You, so we'll just bear that in mind as we interpret the lovely grins and light banter being offered up with our dinner at the sushi bar, okay?

But the take-home message here is really: Try to make friends with people who aren't being paid to act like they're your friends. You'll be much happier in the end.

And now, back to our regularly scheduled entry, already in progress:

We got to the restaurant, and it would've been a lot cuter if it were one of my friends and not me in luvst (love + lust = ?) with the sushi chef because I was so nervous about seeing him, because of the, you know, raging crush and all and I was tounge-tied and blushing like crazy and so on. I was almost hoping that he wouldn't be there and we'd sit instead in front of the chef who has eyes like I'd want any dragon I ever meet to have. But, no, there he was behind the sushi bar and I was so nervous that I almost made everyone sit in a booth just so I wouldn't have to sit there and blush furiously at him. But I had talked up the cute sushi chef to Soph and x and they were having none of my booth talk, vegetarians though they are. So we sat and received our edamame and ordered drinks for ourselves and the chef and pondered the sushi menu. And the pondering of the sushi menu went on for way, way too long, so finally I commandeered the sushi menu and handed it to Aisho-san, explaining to my little band of gathered friends that we would start with what was on the menu and then see how things developed. So we started with a few things, mostly vegetarian things--

And that's going to have to do for an entry for the time being because I'm in the Max's office and I need to get off this computer. I'll finish later.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.