sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Feels The Need to Explain
Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004

I suppose I should explain about the Demon fetish that I seem to display so proudly here in my diary. The Demons are the result of a Buddhist exercise I read about in which one works towards enlightenment by conquering one hundred demons. The object of the exercise seems to speak to the need for one to understand one's true nature as an elemental part of gaining enlightenment.

After reading this, I decided to try to paint my demons (a la Lynda Barry), and came up with Demons #1 through #42 (and #65, which was done out of order for a specific reason). I only made it to #42 because then it became more difficult to draw the demons. I began instead to write them out.

Oddly enought, though it is a Buddhist exercise, I am not a Buddhist. If you continue to read through another entry or two, you will shortly find out that I am a very lapsed Catholic. Not that religion means very much to me anymore--which is the kind of statement that only a truly lapsed Catholic could get away making.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.