sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Addiction
Saturday, Jan. 17, 2009

The Brain is one of those brains that doesn't let go of stuff easily. Consequently, I have become very, very hesitant about picking up things that The Brain might take a destructive liking to. That is, if I think developing an addiction to something might be destructive, then I shy away from it. Strange as it sounds, sugar is one of the destructive things I try to avoid. Drinking and smoking are less problematic. With drinking and smoking, my strategy is to take a soft approach. I would say now that I am a non-drinker and a non-smoker, though I have been both a drinker and a smoker in the past and I may return to both in the future. When I need a drink or a cigarette, I'll have one. Understand that it's been about two years since I've had a cigarette, and about six months since the last time I drank (two weak-ish gin and tonics one evening last summer).

Of course, none of that applies to addictions to non-destructive things. Can it still be called an addiction if the thing I'm addicted to is non-destructive? I think it can. I think the word addiction defines my relationship to the object I am addicted to, not the outcome of that relationship. For example, I am addicted to surfing the internet. I am addicted to

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.