sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Darkness, Revisited
Sunday, Dec. 21, 2008

It's always at this time of year that I get the most horrendous growing pains. It's always at this time of year that I start to see how much of my life I've wasted and how short my time is. It's always at this time of year. Why?

I feel myself slipping, slipping, slipping into the darkness. And I've made up my mind to try something else, but the darkness and the silence is so comforting to me. I want it. If I am honest with myself, then I have to admit that I want it. I want to hide away and never interact with anyone. I want the solitude. I am addicted to it.

I know I have to struggle against it, but I want to submit to it instead. It's not even that I want an excuse to act out. I don't act out anymore. But I want an excuse to fold up into myself--and I want to still be able to call mine a worthwhile life.

All the old rules are gone. All the old rules of naming are gone. All the old criteria for judging are gone. I will never be a mother. I will never be worth that. I may marry again, but I will never be a wife. (The only way I would ever get married again is if I were never ever going to be a wife.) I will never be worth that. So what is left?

If I could purge the darkness, would I do it?

At many times in my life, I would have said yes. When I was in my early 20's, I longed to be like everyone else. I longed to be asleep, too. I wanted to sleepwalk through it. It seemed so simple. Now, I don't know. Now, we're old friends, and it would take something drastic for me to cut away the shadow.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.