sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Year of the Dog
Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006

Year of the Dog


1.What did you do in 2006 that you�d never done before?

Hmmm...traveled to Thailand and Singapore, shopped in Kyoto, turned 35, finished a job.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn't make any new year's resolutions that I recall. Last new year, I was in Hiroshima and Miyajima and I thought a lot about the cultivation of peace in our violent world. It was a kind of resolution perhaps.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My cousin Josh and his girlfriend Spring had a son that they named Elias. My friends Nicole and Steve had a daughter that they named Claire.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My younger brother, Scotty, died in February. I really miss him.

5. What countries did you visit?

I lived in Japan and traveled to Thailand and Singapore.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

I didn't lack for anything in 2006. I am fortunate in that way. But in 2007, I would like to return to school and begin the long trek toward a terminal degree.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I'm not great with exact dates. Rather, I remember large chunks of time. I remember mid-February when I traveled from Tokyo to Albuquerque to attend my brother's funeral. I remember the end of June when I left Tokyo for good. I remember October as the time I spent in Singapore.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Perhaps successfully completing my contract in Japan.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Coming home and sitting on my ass for six months.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing major. I had a UTI in November (followed by an allergic reaction to the drugs I was given). That was scary. Early in the year, I had to visit a doctor in Japan because I had the flu. Otherwise, I haven't been sick or injured.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I don't buy things, really. I did pick up some nice art in Thailand.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Wow. Kelly and Kevin's TKB attitude.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My own.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Travel.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I can't think of any really excited moments. It was kind of a hard year. I'm proud of myself for enduring.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

I can't think of anything.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

a) The same. b) The same. c) Decidedly poorer!

18. What do you wish you�d done more of?

I wish I had seen more art.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of?

I wish I had fought less with people I love.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent Christmas with David, Judi and Paul.

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?

Yes.

22. How many one-night stands?

Two.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Hmmm...The Simpsons remains an all-time favorite.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?
No.

25. What was the best book you read?

Haruki Murakami's A Wild Sheep Chase kicked my ass.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Can't think of any.

27. What did you want and get?

To spend time with my friends.

28. What did you want and not get?

To spend more time with my family.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

I actually saw only a handful of movies this year, none of which were particularly good. I'm not really a movie buff.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 35. I don't remember what I did. Maybe I went to dinner with David? Honestly, I don't recall.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Had I not spent so much time navel gazing.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?

"I wear black on the outside 'cause black is how I feel on the inside."--Morrissey

("...and if I seem a little strange, well, that's because I am.")

33. What kept you sane?

I'm still researching that question.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Junichiro Koizumi maybe.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?

I was completely unstirred by politics this year. (See also: 33. What kept you sane?)

36. Who did you miss?

Scotty.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

Every person I meet is the best new person.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.

Most prayers are selfish in nature. Selfish prayers--like all prayers--are answered. The answering of selfish prayers brings suffering. (Next life lesson: Does the answering of unselfish prayers bring enlightenment?)


retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.