sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Food Meme
Tuesday, Oct. 24, 2006

Five Things I Will Not Eat:

1. Peanuts

A few years ago, I would eat them, now I can't--won't--nor will I eat other kinds of nuts and most seeds. Sometimes I'll eat sesame seeds or pepitas, but I prefer not to.

2. Black licorice

I've always hated the flavor of black licorice. I can't explain why, but for some reason, it's one food dislike I can't shake.

3. Non-diet sodas

I used to drink a LOT of regular Coke. I mean, seriously, I'd drink at least one liter of Coke per day. But now, I can't handle the sugar, so I haven't had a coke in about four years. (I still drink a damn lot of diet coke though!)

4. Pasta

Another dietary habit versus a taste thing. (In other words: I don't eat pasta because it's unhealthy--not because I don't like the taste!) I have eaten pasta when I haven't had another viable choice, but in a perfect world, I'd never eat it and I'd be perfectly happy.

5. Deep-fried things, including donuts, onion rings, french fries, potato chips, Twinkies.

So unhealthy! I just don't think anyone needs that much fat anymore!

I'm a pretty adventurous eater, so most of these are not about taste. I'll try anything once! And some of my favorite foods include menudo (spicy tripe soup) with pigs feet in it (when I was a kid, I LOVED pickled pig's feet!), lengua (tongue), chicharones (fried pork skin)...I guess growing up Mexican/Spanish/American really had an impact. I had all the usual American stuff (hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries, meatloaf) and all the usual American ethnic stuff (spaghetti, lasagna, stuffed peppers, Chinese take out), and ALL the greatest Mexican food ever (tamales, tacos, burritos, homemade tortillas). As I got older, I started to eat other kinds of Americanized ethnic foods: Indian, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Nepalese, Greek.

And, of course, living in Japan was an adventure! While my usual diet included a lot of yogurt, cereal, and frozen (and fresh) fruit, I really enjoyed eating stuff that most Americans will never eat in their lifetimes but that many Japanese often eat. I still mourn the loss of mentaiko and natto from my life--and ikura-don and dango mochi and anpan. Somedays I would KILL for okonomiyaki!

Gee, I can't figure out how I gained 20 pounds in Japan with all those miniscule food portions!

So, day after tomorrow, I'm off to Singapore. I think the Singaporeans are quite adventurous when it comes to food and eating, so I'll try to be courageous!

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.