sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

My New Toys
Friday, May. 20, 2005

New Toy

I am writing this entry on my new Apple iBook, a gift from Max to go with my new iPod. Hello, my name is Sublingua and I am spoiled rotten. The iBook? Is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous, sleek, and elegant. Not necessarily in that order. The thing does 120 just sitting on my kitchen table, it is that sleek. And all the computer geeks get cricks in their necks turning to check her out. She is shiny and brand new and has all these tricks that I have yet to learn.

So, yes, it is my new favorite toy. Because Max loves me still.

Boy Toy

I hadn't heard from the xbry in a long time. In fact, it has been months and months and months since he sent me some mass email about volleyball with physicists. Because the physicists play volleyball on Thursdays and I had class on that night, I sent back an email saying wish-I-could-but-can't. I also, as I had then-recently lost Old Phone, requested that he email me or call with his number, since only Old Phone knew the xbry's number. New Phone was completely ignorant at the time. In closing, I invited him along to join the others for varous movies (at the time, the local art house theater was running weekend midnight kick-ass kung-fu and/or zombie movies and x, Max, The Enforcer and I were partaking). I sent off the email--and heard nothing in response. Since the xbry was not really inner circle when he left the fold, I didn't think too much about it. And several months went by.

And then yesterday? A reply to my email. No excuse as to why it's been five months since he decided to write. Just an email saying something along the lines of let's get together, oh and here's my phone number. Just kind of out of the blue.

Right. I'm sorry. Yes, I've abandoned friends for months and months--sometimes even years. But usually those were not the kind of friendships I'd be interested in keeping up with anyway--or they were the kind of friendships that I knew could take being put down for breathers. Rutgirl and I, for example, sometimes go a year or more with no contact--but Rutgirl and I have been friends for over 20 years. There is little that's going to shake that.

So, I did send a reply, informing xbry that I am moving and that if we get together it's going to have to be soon. And I got an immediate reply that this weekend or the weekend I leave is the only time he has open as he's off to Australia in the meantime.

Some kind of loyalty shift is in effect here, I think, and I don't know that I necessarily want to be involved. I mean, honestly, examining this kind of thing intrigues me the way some others are intrigued by the sight of car accidents (which frighten and disgust me). But really, there is so little time to indulge in such habits.

I mean, I have to learn the ins and outs of my new bambina, my new iBook, my new darling. I have to think of a name for her. I'm toying with "Imelda" after Imelda Marcos (I'm that spoiled too) or perhaps "Leona" after Leona Helmsley, of course...The old laptop came with a name (Feynman, after Richard F.) and I loved that, but this one? Maybe I'll let Max name her. That would be fitting.

I'm grateful, Demons.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.