sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

It's On The List
Wednesday, May. 18, 2005

Full Upright and Locked Position

Ladies and Gentlemen, we are beginning our descent into anxiety over leaving the country.

The Brain wakes us up at three-thirty a.m. to have one of those strange more-than-one-being-inside-my-head conversations. You do remember the photo album, right? And that you need new running shoes? Right. Right. They're on the list. What about the suitcase. You need to get the big suitcase from Max. Is there going to be room in the big suitcase for your winter coat or are you going to have to ship it?

I am groggy and at some point it is unclear who is speaking, me or The Brain. The Brain is tricky that way. And me? Not so tricky. I fall for it every time. I assume the position, the anxious position.

And what about the extra passport photos? On the list. And when are you going to ship those books you want? And the winter clothes? I have to wash them first. They're on the list. And when are you going to have time to do everything on the list? Make time. It's on the list. It's on the list. Are you going to the gym tomorrow? You didn't go today and you only did half the usual number of sit-ups. It's on the list.

Please note that the captain has turned on the seatbelt light. We ask that you wear your seatbelt for the remainder of the flight.

I walked with Judi this morning then ran Cooper. After, she asked if I was getting excited. My version of excitement is too close to anxiety for me to indulge in one without its being contaminated by the other. I'd rather avoid anxiety, so I let go of the excitement. And in reality, I'm the kind that assumes the worst anyway, so it's best for me to not set up expectations. I don't want The Brain writing checks that Japan can't cash.

But the ticket? Is paid for.

The books however? Unshipped.

So I have to run.

Pack your bags, demons. Time is short.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.