sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Define Success
Thursday, May. 12, 2005

Define Success

Shopping success came in two forms today: As a travel battery charger and as a French press travel mug. The charger is because I'm taking my CD player and it runs on double-A's and I go through several sets in a month. The idea of spending half my salary on batteries doesn't really appeal to me, so I went ahead and sprung for the recharger and batteries. The travel mug--the sweeter of the two purchases--is black enamel and has a hidden compartment to store an extra couple tablespoons of coffee (enough for an on-the-go cup of fresh-pressed joe).

I also hit REI and tried to find some rainwear. Being from the desert, I don't really take this task very seriously. I have a hard time, in other words, trying to imagine what rain is really like on a day-to-day basis. I mean, I've seen rain. Maybe several times a year, but that's every year. In Japan, apparently the weather guys differentiate between the rains of the rainy season and the rains that come before the rainy season. I mean, to me, it's all rain. But in the desert, ubrellas always seem so false. I've carried umbrellas. I've even used them. I think I broke my umbrella out once last year. Maybe twice. But certainly not three times. The umbrella I have is almost six years old, bought from a street vendor in Sydney, Australia for, I think, five Aussie bucks.

Anyway. Rain gear. No reason to take it seriously, right? Right. Unless you're moving to a tiny country prone to typhoons and an entire season defined by rain. And even then, psh. I've spent my whole life dry. A little rain ain't gonna hurt me, no?

Dated

So I had, way back, posted my bio to an online dating service. I had a couple of dates--nothing to write home about--then let the whole thing lapse. Well, apparently, my bio has been sent out again via some mass emailing, because recently I've started to get a bunch of fresh replies. I updated my bio with the news that I'm moving to Japan. But does that stop the replies? Nope. One guy says he hopes that we can get to know each other before I go. In a month. Right. Fuck buddy hopeful much? I click on his picture. He looks like Hitler's younger, underfed brother. And he's military. A forty-year-old corporal. I delete him. With extreme prejudice.

The others are motorcycle otaku (otaku = geek, nerd, etc). I delete them too. Sorry. Sorry. Sorry.

Tire

I'm tired. Crabby. Rectangular Guy wasn't at the gym today, but I worked out anyway. I'll write about him tomorrow.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.