sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Sleepless Night
Thursday, May. 05, 2005

Canine Practical Jokes

I was just drifing off to sleep when Lew tensed up. He lifted his head and stared out the dark window. He made a low, grumbly sound in his throat. I asked him what was wrong and he lowered his head. And then raised it again.

He hopped off the bed, over to the glass door to get a closer look at whatever was outside. I turned on the outside lights. I couldn't see anything, so I turned them off again, told Lew to get back into bed.

He chose instead to make a quick exit through his dog door, barking. I turned on the lights again, indoor and out, and tried to see him in the large backyard. He had run to the part of the yard beyond the lights. After a minute, he headed back, sitting outside the door where I could see him. I called him in and he used his dog door to come in.

What is it, Lew? Did you see something? What's out there?

He looked at me suspiciously.

He's just picking up on my paranoia, I thought. He's not really scared. I mean, he did run outside. He's not barking now. He's just picking up on my vibe.

He slunk down the hall, away from the back doors, looked at me again. I followed. He chose the darkest corner of the living room, the room furthest from the backyard, to lay down. He squeezed in the small space between the couch and the wall.

I turned on the lights. He looked up at me.

I called Max, told him that Lew was acting strangely, told him about his running outside, coming in, acting strangely. I'll be right over, Max said.

I turned on every light in the house.

Max drove up and Lew barked at the sound of the car in the driveway. I apologized for my paranoia and asked Max to spend the night. He agreed. After a while, we all settled down for bed. Lew jumped up on the bed with Max and me for pets. I turned out the light.

About a half hour later, Lew sat up again, stared out the window, ran outside, barking like mad. Then he ran back in.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.