sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Just The Usual
Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2005

Grandmother

Everyone has two grandmothers: Bad Grandma (makes you call her Grandmother Last Name, gives smacks for things like elbows on the table, sends educational gifts at Christmas and expects thank you notes in return), and Good Grandma (lets you call her Gramma, Gram, Grammy, etc., gives candy and/or cookies for scraped knees, gives stuffed animals for Christmas and expects nothing in return). My Bad Grandma/Good Grandma pair are really relative though. They're really Bad and Badder Grandmothers. And...okay, I'm not going to complain about this. Badder Grandma is dead. Long dead. She died when I was about six. Bad Grandma has hung on. She's 73 (?) now and two days ago fell down and broke her leg. Yesterday she had an operation to repair it and she came through the operation just fine and I went to visit before the operation and now I'm done with the granddaughterly duties.

I really didn't like either grandmother is what I'm trying to convey here. And I'm done feeling guilty for that.

Mostly I visited my Grandmother so that I could see my aunt Char who is the funniest person on the planet. Seriously. She's goddamned hilarious. And later, only returned to see my cousin Lydia, whose large, bowed out in the middle nose used to thrill me as a child and still does despite the fact that I know now that her nose looks that way because her mother, my Great Aunt Alice, once broke it while beating her. Ah, welcome to family.

They both recognized me by my voice.

Two Workouts

I barely fit into the pants that I wore to meet Mitch for coffee a couple of weeks after Thanksgiving. I mean, okay, I fit into them, they zip up, I look okay, but they don't fit like I want them to. They don't slip on with ease. I couldn't, for example, tuck my turtleneck sweater into them as I did over the winter. And I'm kind of freaking out about that. But not really, you know. I mean, I did go and do two workouts today and I worked out everyday last week. But on the other hand, I did eat my way through two jars of soy nut butter, a steak-house dinner, chocolate pancakes for dessert, and a half pound of animal crackers last week. (Hmmm. I wonder where those extra pounds came from...) So, today? Two cardio workouts and a killer lower body workout. And tomorrow? Two cardios and a killer upper body...and the day after, you guessed it! Two cardios and a killer lower body. Those jeans are coming to Tokyo, baby.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.