sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Oh, Tokyo.
Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

Okay, so, I'm in online Tokyo overload mode. I am, for the moment, all Tokyo'd out. I have seriously looked at, oh, I don't know, like a million websites, including one written (in English) by a young Tokyo-born woman who writes about her day-to-day life in Tokyo. Her name is Mari, and she's pretty funny. (Too tired to link to her here, but I will soon.) I also spent a couple of hours looking at some Brit's Tokyo diary. He went to Tokyo to work (the company rented him a fabulous, unheard of, and probably ridiculously expensive three room--that's not three tatami, but three rooms--in downtown Tokyo). His early objectives were finding every bar in Tokyo that advertised itself as an authentic British pub. Later, he married a young Japanese woman ("Her name is Yuki," he writes. "It rhymes with cookie." Enough said there I think.) His diary bottoms out/ends in 2001 with his triumphant return to England with his new bride. I'm guessing that one's over by now...

Okay, and, also? I'm starting to stress out over living in Tokyo on what is starting to look like a relatively miniscule salary, Tokyo-wise. I'll be making about a third over Tokyo's minimum wage--and here who can help but compare it to the miniscule "minimum" wage paid in the US?--and though my apartment and transportation costs are company paid, I still gotta eat, people. I still got to eat from time to time. Anyway, it's a good thing I love Japanese food with a passion found only among the Japanese themselves (though I won't put natto in my mouth on a dare), and so I will save some money not trying to eat a typical American diet in any other country but America. (And it cracks me up to see so many websites comparing prices for loaves of bread, cheese, and lunchmeat between the US and Tokyo, because, seriously: Who eats that crap outside of the US? Imported deli slices? Blech. I'll take a decent sized lump of stewed konnyaku and some mochi anyday over that processed crap.)

Um, also? I'm tired and babbling about the price of American food in Tokyo. Because I'm tired. And already my head is on Tokyo Time...But I love typing Tokyo.

Tokyo.

Tokyo.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.