sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Deal With The Toes
Friday, Feb. 11, 2005

I'm here in the library, using one of their computers. Actually, I'm not here to write a diary entry, I'm actually here to put together a lesson plan for my interview on Sunday. (Yes, that's right: Sunday. Don't ask me why they're having interviews on Sunday, but that's the day they said to be front and center and who am I to argue when it means a job in Japan?)

And speaking of jobs in Japan, I went to sushi dinner the other night to hit up the Aisho for some advice. I went down there after stopping by Mitch's going-away party, and there was no Aisho behind the sushi bar. I asked the other guy where Aisho was and he said, "Oh, he gone. He gone to Japan." I was, like, wha--? It was strange, because a couple of weeks before, I had thought that I should stop by. I didn't for various reasons (there wasn't time, I didn't feel like having sushi, etc.) but I just kept getting the feeling that I should go in. That's the way the universe works, kids. I should have listened. Though I get the feeling that I'm going to turn the corner in downtown Tokyo and run right smack into the Aisho. Wouldn't that be just the way the universe also works? Yeah.

So, as I said, I did find the perfect shoe yesterday, a perfect pair of black leather heels. And me? I became a biologist so that I could avoid the high heels altogether. And, yes, this is how the universe works too: You go the route of getting a degree in biology because working in a lab means never having to say the words, "Do these heels come in size ten?" But then, here comes opportunity, knocking, and it really wants to see you answer the door in heels. Okay, so what that all means is that I have had to spend at least part of the last day wearing the heels around the house, you know, just to practice walking around on the balls of my feet with my ass out in the air. That's always fun. I don't know who ever thought of heels, but they were a sick mofo. Also, my toes are a bit miffed at me because it seems that, at some point, they assumed that the biology degree was going to get them out of having to be stuffed into this tiny, pointy space. They've gotten used to the roomy Docs is what I'm sayin' here. They like the roomy Docs. They like the big comfy socks and all the room in the world to wiggle around in. And here I come, threatening them with a pointy-toed shoe. It could be a deal-breaker.

I'll let you know, though.

I'll keep you posted.

But now it's time to work. And work I shall.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.