sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Grammar and Heels
Friday, Feb. 11, 2005

Okay, so I'm freaking out a bit about having to teach a little five-minute lesson in English grammar. Now, me? I've studied grammar. I've been using grammar since I was a wee tot. I learned my grammar the hard way, on the mean streets of this multicultural, bilingual little city of mine. I am an honorary member of the grammar hit-squad and a retired member of the grammar police. But those days? Ended when I left school. Now, I find myself only meekly--or even silently--noting when others misuse my beloved grammar. I find myself thinking: Well, at least they're trying. I don't care so much when people say, "As for he and I..." or "She didn't see her and I," and things like that. I mean, I just don't hardly care none.

But now? I'm in the hot seat. Yep. A five minute lesson using auxiliary verbs to form questions out of the simple past. Call it. Name it. Just don't ask any hard questions of me while I'm teetering around on high heels. It takes all my concentration just to balance in bare feet, and gravity long ago tired of its little joke and mostly leaves me alone now. But put me in heels and I get nervous. Gravity starts to think about having a bit of fun at my expense...

Wait, what was my original worry? It wasn't heels. Oh, right: Grammar lessons.

Heels are more interesting, though, aren't they?

Anyway, so I'm off to have lunch with Shawn and Kelly, who are former professors and the twin demons behind why I am a biologist and not and English teacher. Shawn is the greatest teacher in the world, and so is Kelly. The only panic attack I've ever had was inspired by a Shawn quiz. (I'll tell you the story someday.) But it was Kelly's enthusiasm that led me by the nose right into the big, wide world of molecular biology. And now we're all having lunch together. And then I'm going to the gym. Because we're going to a bar-be-que joint for lunch. And I couldn't walk this morning because it's raining outside and both my walking partner Judi and I are wimps. And I'm a grammar idiot. But I'm a grammar idiot in heels. And full of larch. And making no sense.

But I am grateful. I am grateful for this day. For all of it. For you, for demons, for teachers, for grammar. I am grateful.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.