sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Perfect Shoes Are Just That Easy
Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005

Is Your Name...?

Wednesday was Kelly's birthday. I spoke to her on the phone. She said, "I think of you often. Everytime I shave my legs in fact." I laughed, said, "Well, I don't know quite what to make of that, but okay!" She said that it had to do with a conversation she, Sue and I had over a year ago. So, as a belated b-day gift, I decided to buy her some all-natural shaving cream and razors with recycled plastic handles. I went into Peacecraft (the organization for which Mitch is now a liason in Asia) to purchase a gift bag for Kelly's gift. As I was checking out, I said to the familiar-looking girl behind the counter, "Is your name Caroline?" She said it was. "Did you go to V_____ High School?" She said yes. "You were friends with Nikki, weren't you?" She was. She didn't remember me (she's kind of blonde, kind of ditzy--but the nicest kind of blonde and ditzy). But it was just that kind of day.

What's Your Problem?

In fact, it's been a run of those kinds of days. Since Mitch left, I've had this constant kind of low-level deja vu going on. His counselor seemed familiar. People on the street seemed familiar. The woman in my yoga class a few nights ago seemed familiar. It's all too familiar. It's like the Buddhist exercise you can do when you're faced with a problem that seemingly has no solution: You say to yourself, this is like the time I solved this problem. Now all I have to do is remember how to do it. You don't seek a solution--you remember the solution you used before. It works. Try it.

So, I think I have the solution. All I have to do is remember what the problem is.

Maybe It Has Something To Do With Shoes

I am interviewing with the Japanese company and needed a pair of shoes. I visited several places but could find nothing but those "here comes summer and I want to get laid" shoes. You know the ones I'm talking about: The strappy, super-high, fuck-me shoes in pastel colors. I couldn't find a pair of conservative hinting at less conservative pumps with a moderate but sexy heel on them. Also, they had to be leather and not pleather or plastic. I hate plastic shoes with a passion that is wasted, I'll admit, on things like hating plastic shoes. Given that the perfect shoe is elusive, I had almost settled on an only okay pair of slingbacks with this slightly offensive crocodile print inset, but I decided against it because they were too expensive. Today, after dropping Max off at school, I thought: I'll try this shoe store that I've never been in because it seems to sell mostly athletic shoes. I thought: The next shoe store I go into will have the exact pair of shoes that I want.

And you guessed it: The conservative but not too conservative pumps with the moderate but sexy heels. In leather. On sale. $21, kids. That's what I paid for the perfect shoe. And man, do I look hot in them.

But About The Tattoo...

So, given the conservative nature of corporate Japan, I'm wearing a skirt and jacket. You're question should be: Won't a skirt just show off your tattoo? And won't that bar you from the ranks of corporate Japan? Well, yes, yes it will. So I spent a little time this afternoon figuring out how to cover the tat. It can be done. Thank you, Almay and dark hose.

No, Thank You

I am grateful for perfect shoes, for the symbolic nature of the universe, for a wish granted. I am grateful for Judi, for Kelly, for Max. I am grateful for Al, for Binky, for Groucho. I am grateful for Georgia O'Keefe. I am grateful for sugar snap peas and carob powder. I am grateful for Ron, for coffee, for cloudy days, for antihistamines. I am grateful.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.