sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Statistical Confirmation
Friday, Jan. 28, 2005

Ex-Demons

On our walk this morning Judi tells me that a recent newspaper article suggested that January 24th had been scientifically substantiated as the day upon which one was most likely to become depressed. Turns out also that Paul's ex-wife killed herself on that day, though Paul, being a bit of a statistician himself could find no mathmatical correlation (between the date and the suicide?). I don't know why I mention this little fact, as Judi and I talked about many things on our walk this morning...

And I just looked back on my diary entries to see what the previous years' January 24th's held. Not much, except for the fact that I did meet with Scary Mary on Jan. 24th of last year. I don't think that was the last time I ran into her--we may have seen one another once or twice more after that, but that was the time that I knew that any kind of friendship was not going to happen. I remember walking down Central with her and she was telling me something that had to do with her finances. I remember thinking about how disgustingly proud she sounded of the kind of money she was going to come into when she finally got to cash in her trust fund and/or got her law degree. It was judgmental of me, yes, but I'm not a person who is impressed by financial statements, and so...I wasn't impressed by hers. Not that it matters now--and it didn't matter then.

Just one of those odd, floaty thoughts that run through your head.

And Speaking Of Odd & Floaty

I was sitting in Starbucks practicing my Nippon-ese, and in walks The Enforcer. May had sent him in on his lunch break to get her a latte. He ordered the latte and sat down to chat while he waited. The big thing now with The Enforcer is this Batman suit that he found on ebay for $1500. He told May that he had ordered it and she replied, "You did what?!" Of course, he hadn't really ordered it, but it has become some kind of lightning rod for their discussions about money--

Ooops, have to run, I'll finish this up later...

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.