sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Here Be Demons
Tuesday, Dec. 21, 2004

Here Be Demons, Or, Demonic Riddles Solved Here

He asks if it was me who placed the demons sign in his yard. No, I reply. What demons sign, I ask. He describes the sign to me, a foam sign, apparently used by some sports team called The Demons. It's a demon's face, with the word Demons written across the top. You didn't leave it in my yard, he asks. No, I say again. I ask, What does it mean in your dream, someone leaving this sign for you? He can't think of what it might mean.

Later, after I've seen the sign, the mark of the demons, I question him again. What does it mean that someone left this sign in your yard? Again, he has no answer. He refuses to see that the Universe leaves things like demons signs as its calling card, as messages, as warnings, as omens.

The Brain chews a bit, chews and chews on what the Universe might be trying to communicate, on how to interpret the symbols in the dream that is my waking life. Finally, it comes to the realization that the sign wasn't really left for him, it was left for me. It was a message for me, not for him, and the message, as McLuhan would have you believe, is really the medium.

Why, The Brain asks, would he put The Demons sign in his own yard then question me as to why I would have put it in his yard? Why, The Brain asks, would he do this thing if not for the riddle-culous reward that it offers him. He thinks he's offered me a riddle that is beyond my demon wrangling capabilities, but he hasn't. No one ever has.

Unstuck

Unstick me, I pray. Unstick me. And there he comes, Demons sign in hand, trying to "help." Unstick me, I pray, and my prayer is answered. I am unstuck. Now how to rid my life of Demons?

With Gratitude?

I am grateful. I am grateful for Demons With Riddles. I am grateful for those people who have no friends. I am grateful for soynut butter and apples and dried bananas. I am grateful. I am grateful for cigarettes and for Cooper, and for Max, who is getting a set of demon trading cards for christmas. (Shhh, don't tell!) I am grateful. Grateful. Grateful. Thanks be to demons.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.