sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Circle, Now Including Matt
Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004

Kind of a crazy day yesterday in which the new Matthew was introduced to Max and x. We went to lunch, to the nearby coffeehouse with the hyper-inefficient but beautifully tattoo'd counter help and I ate sans a meltdown even. Max and x are the most benign friends I have, which is why Matt was exposed to them first. May provides the opportunity for an advanced application of friendship, and The Enforcer's personality is the final litmus test for new friends. He's good, in other words, so I save him for last.

Everything went smoothly.

I had prepped x in advance via phone by saying that he should come to lunch and meet a new person, perhaps a new addition to the circle of friends, as we were in the process of phasing out some of the old friends. He laughed at this and when I told him that since he had been grandfathered in to the circle, that he would have a vote in the addition of the Matt to the circle. I think that, after lunch, he approves, as Matt listened sans judgment to the x patter about French grammar and organic chemistry, a deadly conversational combination that is only matched by my combination of bodybuilding and motorcycles. Or perhaps by The Enforcer's combination of serial killer trivia and the plots of really horrible B-movies. Or May's combination of "Oh poor me!" and, the graceful alternative, "Oh woe is me!" (complete with tears and drunken apologies). Matt has yet to reveal his own deadly conversational combinations, though he did hint at some things that may yield fruit, and those included his dislike of poor table manners in others and a tendency to join church groups.

So, yeah, we spent a few hours with the Matt and the x, and then I went home and napped.

I haven't been feeling well. I think overtraining is taking its toll, and so last week I was a slackard, only doing four bouts of cardio and two (!) of lifting (not including the ab work I did at home, so I guess it was really four lifting days). I'm also wrangling demons something fierce these days, something that takes a lot out of me. That and it was a stressful week what with almost dropping Frida and all the other et cetera going on. I finally watched one of the movies I rented, Now, Voyager, which is a pulpy Bette Davis flick with my beloved Claude Raines and the guy who played Victor Lazlo (Laslo?) in Casablanca. This morning I started watching Lost Horizons, which is a quoteunquote restored masterpiece, directed by Capra.

And I just got home from the gym. (Overtraining you say? Nonsense.) And I had a snack and a smoke and now I want a nap. There's dinner tonight with Judi and Paul, and I want a little nap and then have to beautify myself for the proceedings.

Have a happy Sunday, Demons. Remember that I love each and every one of you.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.