sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

So You Want To Drop A Few Pounds?
Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

So You Want To Drop A Few Pounds?

So you want to drop a few pounds? Say, two-hundred and twenty-two of them? So you want that beautiful, round, moony face of yours to slim down?

Before.

After

Do you also want to know what your body will look like after those 222 pounds get stripped away? Yes? Well, it may look something like this:

That's my belly. You can see the folds of loose skin there and on my upper thighs. I'm lying down in this picture. When I'm standing, the loose skin is more pronounced, as if I've popped out a couple of kids and never did a single post-partum sit-up. (And, yes, my sit-ups have dropped in number--to a hundred every other day, as opposed to a hundred a day.) You can also see just a bit of my sternum, which now protrudes and which startled me the first time it revealed itself to me. I mean, before, I had always had to take it on faith that I even had a sternum. Certainly it had always been hidden under all the extra fat I carried around.

But as some things appeared, other things disappeared. My boobs, for example, melted away like so much snow in spring. (Now that's poetic, isn't it?) See?

Those are the new tits. I've gone from a 48DDD to a 38B. They're much smaller now and I like them a lot more because they're so much easier to manage. I can buy cheap bras--not those giant reinforced monstrosities that cost way too much (it's damned expensive being fat!) for what they are and which give out in a few months. I can buy pretty bras. I can walk into any store and buy a bra. I can even buy those cute little camisoles with the built-in "bras" (that is, a band of elastic that masquerades as a bra) and wear that instead of a bra. I still suffer from the built-in bra uniboob if I do, but I can still wear them without fear that they're going to give way and leave me hanging out.

And my knees and my thighs? Are beautiful, thank you very much. Don't believe me? Well, see for yourself:

Those are the new thighs. Those sleek babies are the result of countless squats and lunges and leg presses and miles and miles of walking and running. Again, I'm laying down in this picture, so you can't see the loose, wrinkled skin that is around my upper thighs. I'm fine as long as I wear tights and stay away from miniskirts.

Here is my side, my bicep (unflexed, of course, because I'm so modest that way). More loose skin there, but nothing to worry too much about. My stomach is flat, my waist is small as I want it to be, and my ribs put in an appearance from time to time.

And the rest? Of course, I've only posted the flattering pictures here. I have the others, the standing pictures I call them, pictures in which the looser skin is more readily apparent. I have those pictures, but I haven't the courage yet to put them online. I'm working on it, my little demons. I am.


retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.