sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Some Other Time
Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004

Hottie

I stop by the movie rental place to return some movies (In The Realm Of The Senses and some anime). Hottie is out sweeping the sidewalk. We joke for a moment about how it's a chance for him to be outside, which keeps him from getting too pasty looking. I make another comment that he doesn't hear, and he says, "What's that, Sublingua?" And suddenly I am all of twelve years old and thrilled to hear the boy I have a crush on say my name.

I go into the store to look around a bit at some potential rentals. He comes back in after a bit and laughs at something in the newspaper he's reading. I come up to the counter and he shows me what he's laughed at. It's an advertisement for the new Parker/Stone movie that's gotten an R rating for violence, sex, and generalized mayhem "all involving puppets." (Hottie has brought other show-and-tell items for me too: Once, when I was in extended Japanese movie rental mode, he searched out a book on Japanese directors to bring in for me.) We joke about puppet sex and somehow the conversation turns to smoking. He quit two years ago, he tells me. I tell him about how I used to smoke right up until I hit the doors of the gym and then light up immediately upon leaving.

It's light conversation, but I am in lust with the Hottie, so it's enough. The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing calls (we have planned to meet for lunch) and I invite him along to have a beer with us. He says he's tempted, but working solo, sadly, and must decline. I say, "Some other time."

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.