sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Don't Feed The "Normal" People
Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2004

Calling All Sublinguas

I got a strange call a few days ago from someone who referred to the title of an entry (Motorcycle Mama) and who was trying real hard to impersonate Elvis maybe? Maybe. The message ran as follows: "Hey, Motocycle Mama! This is Dave. I have a new cell phone number--" and then the person gave a cell phone number. The message was left quickly and my answering machine cut out the fourth and fifth numbers of the new number. The number itself had come up on the caller id as restricted, so I hadn't picked up. Since I know only a single Dave, who I talk to on an ongoing basis and who hasn't changed his cell phone number, I'm at a loss on this one. Readers?

I also dodged a call from Rutgirl over the weekend, who needs to learn that she can't expect me to jump when she comes into town without notice and then calls to try to make plans. I've known Rutgirl for 20+ years, so I'm not too worried about breaking the friendship over this one.

I also called Paul, who, along with my walking partner Judi, owns my fabulous dog Coop. I had mentioned to Judi that I might take Coop out for runs while she and Paul vacation in Italy, and she agreed to this wholeheartedly, knowing that Coop is the love of my life. I also hit up Paul for use of their driveway to park my motorcycle in while I walk their upscale (and hence very safe) neighborhood in the mornings.

House Of Mirth

Well, I am going to be quite the busy little Sublingua this weekend, as I have made plans to attend the symphony as well as a concert in which my friend Who's Your Favorite Jimmy?'s band will be playing.

Before the Jimmy concert, I'll play hostess to Ladas and his gorgeous wife, feeding them dinner at my house. The idea of feeding normal people a meal fills me with a slight bit o' dread. (Now there's a Harry Potter-like candy name for you: Bit O'Dread). Ever since I started the descent into veganism, I've been wondering what I would do if I ever had to feed "normal" people a meal. Now, it's not as if there isn't food in my apartment. I mean, there is always a jar of soy-nut butter in the pantry, several cans of beans, kale and collard and mustard greens in the frig, veggie burgers in the freezer, and...I know that normal people don't eat such things. I mean, do they? Man, back when I was living on junk food and meat, if I would've had a plate of kale and a veggie burger or a soy-nut butter sandwich set in front of me? I would have done what every well-mannered kid on the block would do: Wretch. So I'm a little bit worried about feeding the natives, you know?

Anyway, I'm planning on giving them green chile stew, vegan tortillas, and a fruit custard (make with dairy, my great concession to "normal" people food) for dessert. Sound reasonable? We'll see.

The Boy

The Boy just called, so I'm off for coffee. Enjoy your day, Demons!

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.