sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

This Is Your Brain. This Is Your Brain On Whole Grains. Any Questions?
Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004

Is Blood Sugar Anything Like Rock Lobster?

So, the carbs? Were killing me.

I started trying to add, in a very limited way, more whole grains to my diet. And, boy, let me tell you what kind of mistake that was. I seriously started with a bowl of rye berries, and then a week later was consuming only whole grain carbs--which are supposed to be complex and therefore better for you than simple carbs like sugar or refined carbs like pasta (neither of which I eat anymore). The next thing I knew, The Brain had been taken over by aliens. I couldn't function, was eating way too much, was going crazy trying to control the carb intake and get enough protein. I thought I might wake up one morning, in a gutter somewhere, clutching a bag of hard red winter wheat berries and wondering where in the hell I was and what in the hell I had done to deserve such a miserable life. And it's not like I've focused on eating low carb. Because I'll tell you, I hate the whole low-carb diet craze that's going on right now. I think people are insane trying to eat low-carb alfredo sauce on low-carb pasta. I think that whole idea stinks of marketing marketing marketing and big companies getting rich on fat Americans desperate to lose weight. So, no, I don't eat low carb. I take in simple and complex carbs in the form of legumes and lots and lots of vegetables. (And I was reading in a nutrition guide that one study showed that fewer than 10% of Americans get 5 servings of fruits and vegetables a day--and that something like 45% of people get NO vegetables in a day, which is insane. It's insane.) I have, on some notable days, eating 20 servings of vegetables in a day, and I can easily eat 5 servings in a single meal. Today, for example, I have eaten tomatoes, onions, garlic, okra, eggplant, spaghetti squash, mixed greens, avacado, green beans, cauliflower, broccoli, cucumber, green pepper, red cabbage, carrots, kale, watermelon, mushrooms, figs, green chile, fresh jalapeno peppers, lemon, and, if you want to count legumes, black and soy beans. And this is not an unusual day.

So, yeah, when I was trying to add whole grains (and I'm talking cooked whole grains: wheat berries, rye berries, oats, kasha, spelt, kamut, quinoa, millet, amaranth--all of which I've eaten in the last week), I went insane. Suddenly I could eat nothing else. My vegetable consumption fell, my protein consumption plummeted, and I found myself eating nothing but grains. Then I'd want sugar then more grains. It made me insane.

So today: No grains. And I felt fine. I had a little trouble getting enough to eat, rather than eating and eating and eating and trying to stop myself. No, I found myself thinking, eat. You need to eat. Then thinking, nah. Not hungry. So I had to seriously force myself to eat something.

The Brain? Insane. Insane, I tell you.

Lists

Need more evidence of insanity? I've started making lists. I've started making lists and doing the things on the list and then crossing them out when they're done. Now, I'm not a list person by nature. I've never been a list person in my life. Oh, I'm not saying that I didn't ever make lists. Sure I did. I made lists all the time. And it was like a challenge to not do the things on the list. It was always, like, let's see how long I can go without doing this oh-so-important thing, this thing that must get done or life as we know it will cease. And you know what? Not much on a list matters. I know this from experience. You can make a list full of things that supposedly have to get done, and then not do any of it and you go on just fine. You can make a list of things that you supposedly need need need to have, and then not get any of them and you go on just fine. So why suddenly am I a list person? Who knows? Maybe it has something to do with whole grains.

The List

I am grateful for Max, Frida, The Boy, my mom, Judi, Paul. I am grateful for insanity, whether carb derived or not. I am grateful for Ziplock sandwich bags. I am grateful for the compounds that comprise the slime that oozes out of okra when you cook it. I am grateful for water, two gallons of which I drank today. I am grateful. Oh, yes indeedy I am.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.