sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Motorcycle Mama
Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004

Picture This

Once a night, I am transformed from this:

into this:

Here is my gear:

That gear (my helmet, jacket and gloves) cost almost one quarter of what the motorcycle itself cost. I wouldn't ride without any of it.

And, of course, I can't forget the boots, my beautiful pair of beloved Docs. (And couldn't you have guessed that I had my toenails painted to match my bike):

I've also read these:

Those are my books on motorcycling: Proficient Motorcycling by David Hough, Motorcycle Owner's Manual by Hugo Wilson, and my Motorcycle Safety Foundation RiderCourse handbook.

But, after having geared up and read up, I go out:

This is what I look like in your headlights:

Keep an eye out for me, yeah?

And Keep On Keeping On

I am grateful. I am grateful for my bike, Frida (who is named after, of course, Frida Kahlo). I am grateful for all my protective gear. I am grateful for the the lessons afforded me by the open road: lessons about freedom, independence and responsibility. I am grateful to have the opportunity to further define and clarify myself through the experience of learning to ride. I am grateful for Tom Petty, whose "American Girl" I sing to myself as I ride down the road on my new Kawasaki Ninja 250R named Frida.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.