sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Says "Weee!"
Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004

100%

Well, guess who passed the written portion of the motorcycle safety test with flying colors? Yes, alright, it was me. And day after tomorrow I take the driving portion of the test--though I'm thinking about failing it, if only because then I'll get to take the class again from my hottie of an instructor, Jason. Because boys on bikes? Yum.

I talked with Jason briefly this morning before class started, while he was helping me choose a bike for the day (a Honda Nighthawk), and it turns out that his father (who is also an instructor for the course) taught him to ride when he was four years old. I would guess him to be in his late 20's now--though he has a very boyish quality that can make guessing age an inexact science. I suppose I'd have to see his driver's license to know for sure--or get him to take me for a ride on his Harley after the class ends. (And, yes, I'm already plotting how to get my hands on those hips of his. I'm a sucker for boy hips--and they are necessary motorcycle passenger grips, so...)

So, yeah. Today was our first day on the range--and my first time ever riding a motorcycle. I mean, hell, I haven't even been on a bicycle (not counting one wobbly half-block-long ride on The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing's bike about six months ago) since I was, oh, I'd say about twelve. There our instructors were talking about how to upshift, and I was trying to remember things like which end of the bike you're supposed to fly off of when you do go flying. It was all very nerve wracking. I don't know how many times Jason and Mike (the other instructor) had to remind me to relax, or to take a deep breath, or (in Mike's case) to say, "Weeeee!" as I rode by him. (And, yeah, he offered me extra points for every "Weeee!" he heard me say.) And you know what? By the end of the day, I was ready to call The Demon Grrlfriend and have her bring me my bike so that I can take it for a spin around the campus. Fortunately for me, I have to take it slowly, as I have yet to register or insure the bike, and I don't want to have my body parts gathered up in a little garbage bag and delivered to the nearest emergency room because I too soon became addicted to the ninety mph ride down curvy roads.

There will be time for all that.

Lunch

So after spending the morning on the range, I came home and had a huge lunch. I had a huge salad (mixed baby greens, cabbage, carrots, tomato, zucchini, red onions, crimini mushrooms, alfalfa sprouts), meatballs in some leftover spaghetti sauce I made from scratch yesterday, sliced peaches in yogurt with some wheat bran tossed in for some extra fiber, and a chocolate chip peanut crunch Clif's bar. And now I'll have a nap and then go to the gym for the Navy Seal leg workout, then I'll go for a sunset walk with Judi, the fabulous California girl walking buddy.

Man, these days? I play and eat well and work(out) hard and I feel good--and I look even better (especially with a motorcycle between my legs--but I'd feel even better with a motorcycle instructor in the same place....)

Life Is Good

I am grateful for Jason, the fabulous motorcycle instructor who smiled large at me when he graded my exam. I am grateful for The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing and The Demon Grrlfriend, who is also a motorcycle safety instructor and who said, "You can't do any better than Jason--unless it's Jason and his dad." I am grateful for Mike, who reminds me that a well-placed "Weeee!" is a delight in itself. I am grateful to Max, for being my best friend and for funding the motorcycle portion of my existence. I am grateful for all the fine people who orbit my existence, for all my friends and family who love me, for my mother who invited me for a vacation on the beach in Mexico (as if my entire life these days weren't some kind of seemingly never-ending vacation). I am grateful for every moment, for my freedom and independence, for my art, for this time, for a fine day on the range, for motorcycles, for biker babes (boy and girl). I am grateful. I am so truly, truly grateful that I can think of nothing more this day needs than a nap. And some more fabulous food. And a workout. And a walk. And then it will have been perfect.

Mmmmm.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.