sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

3 and 33
Sunday, Aug. 08, 2004

Sublingua 2004

Max took this photo of me on my birthday as I was sitting in my kitchen at the cutting board that I use as an impromptu desk from time to time:

When he took this picture, I thought, my god, don't I look like an adult? I have to say that this thought--looking like an adult--scared me just a little bit. (And we won't even get into why this thought scares me. Suffice to say that this has a bit to do with the fact that I often try my best to avoid using the words Sublingua and Responsibility in the same sentence.)

Three

But I wasn't always the arguably competent adult Sublingua that you see here. And to prove it, here I am as a wee little baby:

I used to more often feel more like a child than I did like an adult.

Thirty-Three

But, no, it's true. I'm an adult.

Yikes.

I do adult things: I own small appliances. I eat a well-balanced diet with plenty of fiber. I smoke. I can walk into a store and buy a bottle of wine and not get carded. I go to the opera. I have casual sex with strange men and women. I listen to music at a relatively reasonable volume so as not to annoy my neighbors unneccesarily. I work out at the gym. I--well, you get the picture.

So, yeah, after years of thinking myself as this:

I am actually more like this:

So I'll just go ahead and admit that I like being an adult more than I ever liked being a child.

Be Grateful For Everything After Thirty

I am. I am grateful to be thirty-three. I am grateful to be an adult. The friendships are better. The food is better. The sex is better--much better. The body is better. The understanding comes more easily and there is less confusion and doubt. The confidence is ramped up. The shoes are better. The music is better. Everything you can possibly think of is better after thirty. And I am grateful. Yes I am.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.